Skip to content

FFwD: Gougeres

October 1, 2010

One of the things I love so much about food is that there is always the opportunity to try something new.  Yet simultaneously, there is always an element of security, of comfort with the trial.  I may be trying a new, exotic sauce that will whisk me off to a far away land, but I know I like chicken, I know I like potatoes, so how bad can it be?  Granted, some culinary adventures are more risky than others.  Adding a little yogurt dallop to top your favorite standby soup requires a lot less gumption than than, say, eating a durian.

But I digress.  What I am attempting to convey is that trying new things is fantastic, but sometimes, the most wonderful thing of all is trying something new–going on a new journy–with an old friend.  Trying an exciting new dish with an old favorite ingredient, for example.  Or preparing to embark on one of life’s biggest adventures with my best friend, fellow discoverer, and (now) fiance.

Or, in this particular instance, beginning a new odyssey through a new cookbook, trying many new recipes, but taking a familiar, much loved instructor along for the ride.  As I cook along with my fellow bloggers through AMFT by Dorie Greenspan, I know my kitchen repertoire will greatly increase.  I will learn new techniques and fall in love with new recipes. If simply trusting Dorie was not convincing enough, gougeres, both the first recipe in the book and the first recipe I made from it, sealed the deal.  These cheesy bread balls are packed with wonderful flavor and have a light, whimsical texture, making them the best use of pate a choux dough I have ever tried.  Really.

So with that–let the journey begin!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 7:39 am

    yum, they look absolutely perfect!! I heart gougères!! What a fun weekly group idea!!

  2. October 1, 2010 10:11 am

    I’m with you on this one! I’m up for the journey and trusting Dorie. So far so good on my end too!

  3. October 1, 2010 10:15 am

    That’s just what I said – that I couldn’t do this if I didn’t trust Dorie. Your photos are gorgeous!

  4. teaandscones permalink
    October 1, 2010 2:19 pm

    Great beginning to a great experience. Nicely written.

    These were fun and tasty.

  5. October 1, 2010 8:42 pm

    Your gougeres are beautiful! This is going to be a great group!

  6. October 3, 2010 10:10 pm

    Totally agree – this FFwD will introduce me to more than I’ll be able to handle! But such an adventure in cooking! Lovely gougeres – these were the perfect 1st recipe, don’t you think?

  7. October 4, 2010 3:38 pm

    they look perfect! I’m excited to try more from this book

  8. October 7, 2010 6:49 pm

    Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

