Skip to content

FFwD: Caramel topped semolina cake

November 12, 2010

Yesterday in class, we were talking about nano-wires (really, really small wires, only a few nanometers in diameter).  These nanowires can be made approximately the same length as different types of cells.  And the cells engulf the wires.  Because, well, they can.

Apparently the cells like to eat the gold wires faster than any other type of wire.  The cells have high taste.

Which got me thinking about cake.  At this point in the class, what else is there to daydream about, but nano-cake?  Do you think the cells would also engulf a high quality nanocake made from the freshest ingredients faster than they would engulf, oh, say a nanotwinkie?

In class, I decided they would.  After all, the cells do have high taste.

I pictured a nano-caramel-topped-semolina-cake with its uniquely fantastic taste and texture.  I decided the cells would consume that one quite quickly indeed.  And then I realized my thoughts had gotten a little out of hand, and that I should probably pay attention again.  Too much longer in my nanocake fantasy land and I would start giggling.

Unfortunately, though I actually did make the caramel topped semolina cake for a dinner party several weeks ago, I did not capture its beauty on camera.  However, there was a Frenchman present at the dinner party and he approved.  Win.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 8:21 am

    Way to day dream in class ..and about food. ..even better! How cool the French man approved, it must have been great! Im going to make this one soon.

  2. November 12, 2010 11:16 am

    Great story. I remember those days. Maybe you can take photos the next time you make it.

  3. November 12, 2010 2:33 pm

    Too cute! Glad the cake was good and gave you something to think about in class other than nano-wires!

  4. November 12, 2010 7:24 pm

    Oh boy does that bring back memories. I wish you had the photos I have a feeling I would have liked them as much as the story. Happy studying…B

  5. November 12, 2010 9:38 pm

    The best dishes seem to suck the capability to photograph them as they want to be eaten not just to sit there!

  6. November 12, 2010 10:01 pm

    LOL! Great post and I’m glad your Frenchman approved.

  7. November 12, 2010 11:45 pm

    Even though nano-technology is so far removed from my sphere of consciousness, I laughed reading your post, because I can relate (not on topic, but off topic – you get my drift).
    I love your witty style of writing and there fore I do not mind the lack of photos.
    And yes, the presence of a bona fide Frenchman counts!

  8. November 14, 2010 1:50 pm

    Hey, the Frenchman should know his stuff! Loved your post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

