Skip to content

A welcome pie

March 14, 2009

blackberry chocolate pie

So as I embark on this new adventure of food blogging, I thought nothing would be more appropriate than a nice ‘Welcome Home’ gift: a pie.  Well, a mini-pie.  A blackberry-chocolate mini-pie to be exact!  My grandmother gave me 4″ pie pans, and this recipe makes full use of them.  I originally made this pie with dark chocolate in it (because I love dark chocolate), and it was delicious.  But I think for this recipe milk chocolate works much better.

Blackberry-Chocolate Mini Pies

title pie

Filling:
1 c blackberries
1/2 c milk chocolate chips
 1/4 c sugar
1/8 c flour
spritz of lemon juice

For the pie crust, I halved the amounts from  Baking from My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan’s Good for almost everything pie dough 9″ single crust (pg. 442).  She recommends using a food processor because it grinds the ingredients quickly so they don’t heat up.  I don’t have a food processor, and while I like to imagine I have super fast mixing abilities, I am a realist so I just put the crust back in the refrigerator to chill between steps.

Preheat the oven to 425 F.

When the crust is rolled out and ready to go, it’s time to combine the filling ingredients.  Then, add these to the lower crust and top with the upper crust.  Cut a nice pattern and press down the edges.  Brush the crust with egg white and sprinkle with sugar for a nice shimmer.  Throw the pie in the oven for 30 minutes, then reduce to 375 F for an extra 20 minutes or until nicely golden.  Keep an eye on it – toward the end you might have to put a little foil around the edges to keep from burning.

I know you want to eat the pie now, but it is best to let the pie settle for about a half hour first.  (Plus you don’t want to burn your taste buds!)

Enjoy!dscf1975

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

