Skip to content

A salmon burger adventure

March 16, 2009

I have been craving salmon patties.  My mom made these for me when I was younger, and with a few modifications, these patties were exactly what I needed.  I hadn’t had my salmon from a can in ages, but these are typically made from canned salmon.  The touch of sage meshes very well in this recipe.

I had this beautiful mental image of an open-faced sandwich with a roasted portobello mushroom as the bottom bun.  Visually, it was exactly what I longed for:

salmon burger

The salmon was delightful.  The mushroom was wonderful.  Together, however, the beautifully meaty mushroom overpowered the salmon and it just didn’t work.  I don’t know why I didn’t anticipate such a thing!  So I just pushed the two to opposite sides of the plate and had myself a little surf-n-turf!  Yum!

The Salmon Patties:

1 can (14.75 oz) Salmon
15 buttery crackers (such as Townhouse), crushed
1 small onion, grated
1 egg
1 tsp sage
1 tsp pepper
Olive oil

I love my new mortar and pestle, so while it would be easy to crush the crackers other ways, this was super fun and very fast:

dscf2023

Mix all ingredients.  Divide and shape into 4 patties.  Add enough olive oil to cover the bottom of the pan, and put on medium-high heat.  When the oil is hot, cook the patties approximately 3 minutes on each side.  I only cooked two at a time to make sure my pan stayed hot.  Pull them out, blot to remove excess oil, and garnish with a fruit salsa, such as the nectarine salsa pictured here or a nice mango salsa.

salmon patty

Broiled Portobellos

dscf2022

1/4 c pear infused balsalmic vinegar
2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 cloves minced garlic
4 portobello mushroom caps

Combine the first three ingredients and pour over the mushrooms.  Marinade for 15-20 minutes, then broil 5 minutes on each side.  Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

