Skip to content

My peanut butter cookie fix

March 19, 2009

Peanut butter cookie with nutella

I have been craving peanut butter cookies for a while.  Then, when a girl from my lab mentioned she didn’t know what Nutella is, my shock drove me to make these into a Nutella sandwich.  As I’m sure you can all imagine, the combination was divine.

While the cookies themselves could have been a little more peanut buttery for my taste by themselves, when combined with the Nutella, these cookies sung.

The cookie recipe came from a cookbook my grandmother gave too me a long time ago, and I must admit I have made shamefully few recipes from such a wonderful cookbook.  The inscription she wrote to me reads “may good food and good friends always be a part of your life,” and I wish the same for you.

Peanut Butter Cookie – Nutella Sandwiches
Adapted from Betty Crocker’s Picture Cook Book 

1/4 c shortening
1/4 c butter
1/2 c peanut butter
1/2 c sugar
1/2 c brown sugar
1 egg
1 1/4 c sifted flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp soda
1/4 tsp salt
Nutella 

Thoroughly mix together shortening, butter, peanut butter, sugar, brown sugar, and egg.  In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, soda, and salt.  Gradually, stir this into the peanut butter mixture.  Chill this dough.  

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Roll into balls the size of large walnuts, and place ~3″ apart.  Flatten with a fork dipped in flour. Bake 10-12 minutes.

After the cookies have cooled sufficiently, spread Nutella on half of the cookies, and top with the other half.  A knife-full of Nutella per cookie worked perfectly for me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

