Skip to content

Strawberry Mint Crepes

April 1, 2009

strawberries-and-mint

It was one of those days.  One of those wonderful days when I went to the market and a huge thing of strawberries was just $4!  So I bought a huge thing of strawberries!  And with the strawberries I didn’t eat for lunches, I knew I wanted to do something fun.  After the input of a few trusted confidants, I settled on crepes.  What a wonderful decision.  The addition of mint gives the crepes a fresher feeling that I really loved.  I am making these again tomorrow, sadly using the last of my strawberries.  Guess I’ll just have to go back to the store!

Oh, also this recipe makes just enough for 3 small crepes, or one person in my book.  So just multiply for the number of people.

Strawberry Mint Crepes

To make crepes:

There are lots of good recipies out there on the internet.  I like this one by Alton Brown.  I don’t use a food processor though – I find it’s easier (and a lot less cleanup) to start with the flour, mix in the eggs, then mix in the other stuff slowly.  Make sure to mix completely so there are no more lumps! 

To make filling:

1/2 c strawberries, sliced
1 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp fresh mint, cut on chiffonade (roll up leaves and slice thinly from one end to the other)

In a pan on medium heat, add the strawberries and sugar.  Mix to coat, and continue mixing until a syrup forms.  Add the mint, cooking about 30 seconds more.  Remove from heat.

Scoop the strawberry-mint filling into the middle of the crepes, and roll.  Sift/sprinkle with powdered sugar to plate.

Enjoy!!

strawberry-mint-crepes

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

