Skip to content

Tuesdays with Dorie: Banana Cream Pie

April 7, 2009

banana-cream-pie-1

So I made this pie for a poker night last Friday, but I forgot my camera!  Don’t worry though – the host let me borrow her camera, so I got plenty of pictures–I just didn’t get them on my computer until tonight.  So sorry for posting late in the day, but I figure better to have the pictures!

Amy of Sing for your Supper chose this week’s recipe.  I have loved this blog ever since I read the title – I love that song – so I was very excited to make Amy’s selection!  To find the recipe for the pie, click on over to Amy’s blog, or buy Dorie’s book here – it’s a great investment!

The flavors in this pie were wonderful.  I really loved the nutmeg!  Like many of the other cooks from Tuesdays with Dorie, my custard portion came up quite thick.  Many other bakers recommended whisking in some cream, but it didn’t incorporate too well for me.  So I just suffered through the spreading.  I figure it is better in this case to be a little to thick and a pain spreading than too thin and oozing out of my pie when cut!

The best part?  Everyone did their part, finished their entire (large) pie pieces, and we finished the entire pie!  When Dorie says a pie is best eaten right away…that really is the only thing to do!  I didn’t win at poker, but I did win with this recipe!!  Enjoy!

banana-cream-pie-2

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 9:17 pm

    Picture perfect! Looks fabulous, glad you enjoyed it 🙂 We loved it here too!

Leave a Reply

