Skip to content

Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate Amaretti Torte

April 14, 2009

 

15-min-magic

Wow.  Dorie calls this torte ’15 minute magic.’  For me, this was not the case.  Not because it in any way lack in magical fudginess!!  No, this cake was rich, chocalatey, and completely delicious.  I would highly recommend it to anyone who asks.  In fact, my mom has already put in a request for me to make it again in less than a month for a women’s chocolate retreat.  (Yes, you heard me right.  A chocolate retreat.  Does life get any better?)  When the mom (who is allergic to all things chocolate) requests you to make a chocolate desert…it must be good.  And Dorie’s recommendation for using it in ice cream sundays?!  Oh my!  As I ate the cake I could practically imagine it as the base for such a sunday, and I have added that to my ‘bucket list’–which is still all in my head at the moment.

But I digress.  

This cake was not magical in a mere 15 minutes for me.  I did not have a food processor.  So the step where you pulse the (sliced) almonds and amaretti for 3 minutes or so…well let’s just say it took a little longer.  I was watching a movie to pass the time, but I might have been grinding for more like 30 minutes.  Sadly, I am just too impatient to warrant any longer with my mortar and pestle on a single project.  

That being said, I think I ground it pretty well!  Although if you look closely at my pictures you can see a couple of small flakes that I just couldn’t quite get to…

15-min-magic-whole

Was it worth having to grind the almonds myself?  Of course!  Plus, this way I could pretend to work off so many of the calories I later went on to eat 😉  And there is always that extra satisfaction when you actually grind something yourself!

This week, we have Holly of Phe/MOM/enon to thank for this fudgy deliciousness.  You can head on over to her blog to find the recipe…or just buy the book!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

