Skip to content

Lime wheat thins with Spicy BBQ dip

April 19, 2009

It’s the first “Pre-made, Our way” Challenge: wheat thins!

wheat-thins-and-dip

It is hard to believe I have been doing the whole ‘food blog thing’ for over a month now!  I really love how I am constantly challenged to keep thinking up and trying out new recipes.  As a grad student who mostly just cooks for myself, it can be really easy to slack off and lose site of how much I really love being in the kitchen.  So when I saw Natalie’s idea for making the things we typically buy premade, I was in!

I actually made these a while back and took them to the same poker night as Dorie’s banana cream pie.  Both were incredible hits.

As for the dip…my inspiration came one night about a year ago when a coworker was adamantly rounding people up to go out to some particular restaurant.  There was no swaying him!  Finally we found out all he wanted was a simple chip and dip appetizer that we told him could easily be made at home…he didn’t believe us.  So we stepped up and created this dip.  We haven’t been back for their dip since!  

But enough of that!  Let’s get to the the food:

Lime wheat thins

The recipe for the wheat thins can be found here posted on the creator of this wonderful group’s (Natalie of Oven Love’s) page.  The only change I made was the addition of the zest of two limes where optional seasonings can be added.  This lime flavoring was subtle (so add more if you want it more lime-y), but it really meshed well with the spicy dip!  My final note is that while these were very good, they were not salty like wheat thins usually are.  This is probably a good thing, but if you are really craving the salt factor, I would amp up the salt in the recipe.

wheat-thins-and-dip-22

Spicy BBQ dip

I have made this both with and without some chopped parsley.  If you have some, go ahead and throw it in!  If not, it isn’t worth a trip to the store.  (I forgot it myself, so there is no parsley in the pics!)  This dip does have a kick to it – so if you like your dips mild, I would cut back on the cayenne!

1 16 oz thing of sour cream (just under 2 c)
1 c grated parmesan cheese
1 Tbsp barbecue seasoning
1/2 Tbsp cayenne*

 *Please note the cayenne does make this a spicy dip!  You can use less for medium/mild.

Combine all ingredients for dip, and stir to combine.  Best when refrigerated for 1 hr – overnight, but can be served right away if in a crunch!

I had a lot of fun with this challenge and can’t wait for the next one!  Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 3:46 pm

    yay! thanks so much for participating.. they look amazing!

Leave a Reply

