Skip to content

Tuesdays with Dorie: chocolate cream torte

April 28, 2009

One day while eating lunch several years ago, I realized I was getting in a bit of a rut.  So, in the middle of eating my corn, I decided to be more random.  I started immediately.  Most people eat their corn either from left to right or by going around.  Not me anymore…I started taking random bites all over the corn.  Good bye, monotony!

chocolate-cream-torte-2

Maybe it is the month’s worth of chocolate deserts at TWD, but I am finding myself slipping into monotony again.  For example, this is only my 18th blog post, yet it is already my 3rd post with one circular overview picture and one more normal sized slice or biscuit picture.  I obviously need to switch it up.

I’ll start that next week.

But onto the food.  I did not switch up too much with this weeks recipe.  (After last week I felt the need to stick with the actual instructions…)  I made it a pie instead of a torte due to my lack of torte pan.  I really want to buy one, but I am not allowing myself to stock up before I move.  This is testing my will power.  Anyway, though, I made more of a pie.  And then it seemed like it wasn’t quite full enough, so I doubled the whipped cream.  That was really delicious.  I garnished the pie with shaved Andes mints…not too much, but just enough for a slight minty flavor.  Wow.  I really loved it.

The crust was a bit crumbly coming out of a pie dish.  I’m sure it would be much easier to make the torte, but I eventually got a pretty piece:

chocolate-cream-torte

This pie was really delicious.  So thanks to Kim of Scrumptious Photography for picking this desert – check out her website for the recipe.   I will definitely make this again, but for now, I’m looking forward to switching it up a bit and baking some non-chocolaty deserts in May!

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

