Skip to content

Tuesdays with Dorie: tiramisu cake

May 5, 2009

I am always amazed by how busy you get when you really have nothing to do.

tiramisu-cake-1

Okay, so ‘nothing to do’ is a bit of a stretch.  I am finishing up here at Texas A&M, and now that I am all set to graduate, my days have turned to a low stress time of packing up and helping other people with their projects.  I actually got mad at google reader the other day for helping me to waste time too efficiently.  But when it comes to getting rid of things to prepare for my move and seeing all of my friends a lot before I go, I have no shortage of stuff to do!

tiramisu-cake-2

So when I found myself with not one, but two cakes on my hands  (one for TWD, the other for my final course 1 Wilton cake decorating class!), I called in the masses to meet me at a nearby park to help me indulge!  I got there a little early for a photo-shoot with my cakes!

tiramisu-cake-3

If you have been checking out the rest of the cakes made by the TWD bakers, you may have noticed that my cake is a little…shorter than the rest of them.  Well…I can only make so much cake in one night!  So I made the full recipe of cake and split it between the 2 8″ cake pans like the recipe says to do….but then I confiscated one of the cakes for my class, and torted the other for the tiramisu cake!  So if you’re wondering how the cake holds up by itself…I can attest to the fact that it is extremely delicious, although very sweet.  

cake-wilton

But back to the matter at hand!  Dorie’s tiramisu cake!  Wow this was really good!  I did realize a little too late that I forgot to add the chocolate in the middle, but I just made sure to add some to the outside of the cake, and nobody missed it.  The full amount of frosting was perfect for my little cake.  I honestly can’t imaging having to share it with an extra layer!  (Then I wouldn’t have gotten to eat the slight bit left over off of the spatula!!)

tiramisu-cake-5

Speaking of the frosting, I do have a word of advice.  If, like me, you do not drink coffee, any kind of cokes, and typically only drink uncaffinated teas, I do no recommend indulging in this right before bed.  I am speaking from experience here.  I know it is not much, but my body just isn’t used to the caffeine so I have a very low threshold before I go crazy!

But I do highly recommend making this cake–especially if you love tiramisu!  If you want the recipe, you can find it on page 226 of Dorie Greenspan’s book Baking: From My Home to Yours. Or check out Megan’s site – she picked this lovely recipe for the week, and will likely have the recipe posted today!  Thanks, Megan, for such a wonderful recipe!

tiramisu-cake-4

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 8:19 am

    LOL you made me laugh about eating it before bed! Looks wonderful! I loved this recipe, so delish! I did an interview with Dorie if you want to stop by my blog 🙂

  2. May 5, 2009 10:30 am

    Love your two cake ideas! And yes – definitely don’t indulge right before your bedtime. Even hardcore coffee drinkers like me will be eating this at 9am…

  3. May 5, 2009 11:16 am

    I love your photoshoot with your cakes! Our parks in Arizona look nothing like your green beauty. I’m getting a nice chuckle about your indulgence with the caffiene. The things you learn when in an online baking group;)

  4. May 5, 2009 7:33 pm

    i love the chocolate chips on top of your cake!

    thanks for stopping by my blog:)

  5. May 5, 2009 8:03 pm

    Love love love the final shot! Good idea to dual-purpose the cake recipe. The caffeine wasn’t a problem for me though 🙂

  6. May 5, 2009 8:23 pm

    It looks great with the chocolate chips on it. I love the photos of your cake in the park!

  7. May 5, 2009 11:55 pm

    This cake would get you buzzing if you aren’t used to caffeine. Very pretty!

  8. May 7, 2009 9:25 am

    Looks like a pretty good reason for a party! Congrats on graduating

  9. May 7, 2009 3:43 pm

    They don’t call this a “pick me up” for nothing — your caffeine comment had me laughing!

    Great job on your cake!

Trackbacks

  1. Tuesdays with Dorie: cinnamon squares « The Berry Bushel

Leave a Reply

