Skip to content

Coconut chocolate cake

May 9, 2009

When I was young and sick my mom would ask me what I wanted to eat.  I could tell her anything and she would make it.  I almost always requested her chicken ‘n’ dumplings which would send her to the kitchen for a good 5 hours or so.  Yes, I was spoiled.  (Did I mention she was a single mother?  Thank you, mom)  Now, I get sick and I want my good food.  The food I could only talk her into making when I had that sickly charm about me.  But I’m too sick to make it for myself, so I end up sulking and eating boring food.  Any good sick food suggestions?

This brings me to my main point: what happens when you have been sick for week, are moving in less than 2 weeks, and have a brother turning 13 who needs a birthday cake?

coconut choco cake 3

Well, to be fair, the teenage turning brother specifically requested a coconut chocolate cake.  To be more specific, I gave him Baking From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan to look through and pick out a birthday concoction a while back.  He opened up to the ‘perfect party cake’ and said that was what he wanted.  Excepte he wanted chocolate instead of vanilla cake.  And black frosting (b/c he’s a boy…you know).  He agreed to go with brown for chocolate after I got sick ;).  Oh, and he didn’t want the jam between the layers….yeah, really the only thing from the cake that he wanted was the coconut.  And that only between the layers…not on the outside.  He was specific about that.

But he remembers this delightful coconut chocolate cake from when he was younger that he absolutely loved.  Nobody else remembers such a cake.  We showed him pictures of a German chocolate cake thinking maybe that was it.  No.

Anyway, yeah, I was sick, so some compromises were made.  Like the frosting.  I was low on butter, shortening, whipping cream…you know the easy things you can use to make frosting.  I did not have the energy (or the right bowls for that matter) to make a good meringue with the egg whites, so I only entertained that idea for about 5 minutes.  I scoured my pantry, and found some Fluff.  Fluff that I only have because about a year ago, the boyfriend was completely upset by the fact that I had never had a fluffernutter (peanut blutter and fluff) sandwich.  So now I have had the fluffernutter (maybe two) and was left with the huge thing of Fluff in my pantry.  

coconut choco cake 2

Let me be clear:  Fluff does not make for good frosting spreadage.  But it does taste marshmellowy which is yummy.  Just work super fast to cover the cake before it cools then chill quickly so it doesn’t all slide down off the cake.

So, if you’re in a bind you can whip up something sort of like this:

1/4 c butter
1/4 c shortening
1 tsp vanilla
2 c confectioners sugar
1 T cocoa powder
2 Tbsp water
2 c Fluff, microwaved for 20 s to loosen up a bit. 

yeah, I know.  I was sick and cleaning out my pantry.  It worked.  I also got rid of my pudding and coconut on the filling.  

The chocolate cake recipe?  That was from Martha: her versatile vanilla cake, chocolate style.  That part was really good, and I will be making it again.

coconut choco cake 1

The good news?  I’m finally starting to feel better!  I have a feeling a lot of yummy things will come out of my recovery energy!

Oh, and he said the cake was exactly what he wanted!  Yay!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2009 10:12 am

    Boo to being sick! I can’t believe your brother is a teenager though – yikes, time flies!

  2. May 12, 2009 2:45 pm

    Looks sooo great :)) I’d like to try a piece of the cake ;))

Leave a Reply

