Skip to content

Tuesdays with Dorie: tartiest lemon tart

May 12, 2009

I knew from the beginning I wanted to brulee my tart…I just didn’t know how badly I would need it in the end!  What an experience this one turned into:

The whole experience started out normally.  I had a little extra crust in the freezer: use that.  I am, after all, moving in a week, so I need to get rid of things like “a little extra crust in the freezer.”

So I partially baked the crusts.  Then I washed the lemons, cut the lemons, added the sugar, blended, separated the eggs, threw the shells away, slipped on a huge puddle by the trash can, threw a towel on the puddle, added the cornstarch, egg, etc, blended again, poured in my mini pans, throw in the oven.  Wait.  What was that?  A puddle?  Why was there a huge puddle by the trash can…At this point I was aroused from the baking zone to realize it isn’t normal to have huge puddles randomly on the floor.  So I went back to explore.

lemon tart 1

 

The huge puddle had reformed.

The huge puddle was immediately under the air conditioner.  It was broken.  Texas can be hot.

The time was 5:15 and there was no way our apartment people were taking care of it that day, so I turned off the air conditioner and cleaned up the now huge mess, all the while keeping an eye on the tart in the oven.  It looked so good.  And just when it was almost done (you know that point where you could probably pull it out and it would be passable, but if you just leave it in a minute more, it will be perfect) my roommate came home.  I, of course, had to tell her about the air conditioner…

lemon tart 2

…and then it was too late:  I had a bubbled over mess that does not really make for beautiful blog pictures.  But we did have a lot of fun with the torch!  That made it all better.  Luckily, the filling in the deeper of the bakeware hadn’t quite set yet, so I just switched it to a pretty glass to chill.  Pretty glasses make everything better, yes?

lemon tart 4

Some of my fellow bakers over at TWD noted that the filling was too tart for them, but mine was perfect for me!  I actually squeezed in a little extra lemon juice becuase I love lemon.  One roommate thought that made it too tart…the other thought it could be tarter still!  Everyone has different taste buds!

So thank you , Babette, for choosing this recipe!  I really love a good lemon desert, and this one had great flavor.  Next time I make it, and yes–I’m sure there will be a next time, I will try not to get so distracted right after I throw it in the oven!  And if you want the recipe, head on over to Babette Feasts–the recipe is sure to be there today!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2009 7:40 am

    Mine bubbled over like a volcano, but it turned out fine after some doctoring 🙂 A little bitter, but I don’t think my lemons were of the best quality. DELICIOUS dough!

  2. May 12, 2009 10:22 am

    Love the idea Charli! I got the same results without having to caramelized the top… but more because of a mistake I made (blended the filling to far in advance and something must have separated and made the tart golden on top, when baking! HEY! two for one! LOL

    Yours looks fantastic… and yes, you’re right… pretty glasses make everything look nicer! LOL

  3. May 12, 2009 1:33 pm

    NICE! I love this idea. And it is creamy enough to brulee it…although, honestly. When do you really ever need an excuse to brulee anything? NEVER.

  4. May 12, 2009 1:48 pm

    Oh no! Sorry to hear about the A/C… I live in So Cal and know how vital air conditioning is! Hope it’s fixed quickly 🙂 Glad to see you were able to salvage the filling… and enjoy the torch!!!

  5. May 12, 2009 1:53 pm

    So sorry to hear about your AC. It finally got warm in DC a couple of weeks ago and my AC was broken. I was in a tizzy about it the whole time. No matter, it looks like you were able to make some yummy tarts. I was thinking that the top of this tart would be great to brulee so I’m glad that you did it. It looks wonderful.
    Good luck with the drive to Baltimore and your move! I was doing that last summer and I vividly remember it.

  6. May 12, 2009 6:53 pm

    Oh man! Always something…my sump pump blew yesterday while I was baking this! Must be going around.

    Your tart still looks good though! I was hoping someone would ‘brule’ their’s. I need a better torch.

  7. Sarah permalink
    May 13, 2009 3:03 pm

    bahahah. at frist i was like well of course darling charli slipped in a puddle, i thought the puddle this was a extraneous piece of narrative meant simply to entertain little did i know it had a purpose in the story. i would rather it have been nothing because it is hella hot outside. hope you havent died of heat stroke.

Leave a Reply

