Skip to content

Cheddar chipotle grits

May 22, 2009

cheddar chipotle grits

Grits seem to be a polarizing food.  So many people, especially those raised outside of the South, don’t seem to like them.  So, as I move up north yet again, I thought I would begin my farewell with grits.  But not just any grits – my favorite grits.  These are the grits that made my Bostonian boyfriend change is mind and decide that even he likes grits.  

Cheddar is such a classic addition to grits.  In standardized test form, I think you could say cheddar:grits::parmesan:polenta.  Adding the chipotle kicks it up a notch, and the occasional bit of corn makes the grits sweeter.  More than that, though, the corn makes the grits much more interesting texture-wise.

If you haven’t been a fan of grits before, go ahead and give these a try when you are feeling adventurous.  And if you do enjoy grits, it shouldn’t take too much convincing.  They make an excellent side dish.

Cheddar Chipotle Grits

1.5 c quick cooking grits
6 c water
1/2 tsp salt
1 c frozen corn
2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, mashed or minced
 8 oz cheese, grated

Cook the grits, with water and salt, according to the package directions.  (probably boil water…add salt and grits…stir occasionally over about 5 minutes until thickened.)  When the grits have thickened, add the frozen corn and stir in.  Add the chipotle peppers and cheese, stir.  It’s ready when the corn is no longer frozen!

As a note: this does make quite a lot.  I would probably half it for a small family or if you want leftovers for a single person or couple.  It is really easy to half!

I will leave you with just one final thought from my mom: “This would be really good with bacon crumbled on top…”  But yeah, what wouldn’t?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2009 9:03 am

    Did you seriously just pull out standardized testing? But yes – even the Midwesterner that I am must appreciate the goodness of cheesy grits.

  2. Shelly W permalink
    May 24, 2009 8:39 pm

    I’m from the Midwest, as well, and I love grits. Your version sounds fantastic! I’m going to have to try it.

  3. May 25, 2009 1:20 pm

    I’ve come to like grits, but they have to be really cheesy. I’ll have to try this when I return to Kentucky this summer!

  4. Wendy permalink
    July 9, 2009 4:11 pm

    I am going to try these on holiday on the East Coast. They look super.

  5. November 6, 2009 3:33 pm

    I’d love to talk to you about a Daring Kitchen Food Talk article I’m writing. Please contact me via e-mail and I’ll send you the details. THANKS.

Leave a Reply

