Skip to content

PreMade Our Way: (cherry pineapple) Pop Tarts

May 24, 2009

pop tarts 1

For the second PreMade Our Way challenge, Natalie, our fearless leader, chose PopTarts!  We never had these around when I was little, so they were always quite the treat when I stayed over with a friend.  I was very excited for this challenge – although my 10 yr old brother had my excitement beat on this one!  

We decided to wake up and start making these at 7 before heading out to the zoo for the morning, so of course my little brother crept in around 5:50 to see if it was time yet.  If he wasn’t so darn cute, I probably would have yelled at him and sent him away, but all I could do was invite him to snuggle with me for the remaining hour.  Unfortunately, in my groggy state I did not think to mention that it was really an hour and ten minutes, so he woke me up again at 6:50.  He finally roused me from the warmth of my covers at 6:57.  

pop tart 2

I had set out the solids in one bowl and the fats in another the night before while making my jam, so it came together really quickly.  He was really excited to combine the flour mixture with the fats (he even  practiced the motion with his hands in the air the day before), but he knew not to go overboard mixing so the pop tarts would still be flaky!  Truth be told, I really did very little work on these.  I added the water, spread the jam, did the oven work, and supervised, but he cut, combined, rolled, shaped, cut, pressed, and even transported to the tray!  Quite the baker in the making – now he even wants to bake bread before I leave again!

pop tart 3

This was a really great learning recipe – fast, easy, and something that kids love!  Of course, the brother thought store bought Pop Tarts were just as good, but I knew the truth: these were way better.  You just can’t mass produce the flakiness that comes with home made.  Plus, I loved my flavor…cherry pineapple.  I made the cherry pineapple jam by boiling down 1 cup of fresh cherries, pitted, 1/3 cup pineapple, and 2 cups of water.  

One of the best parts of this recipe is that except for the icing it is sugar free, and the icing is easily omitted.  We did this for my mom (who is sadly allergic to sugar), and added a little more jam to the tops:

pop tart 4

Although, if you go for the icing on top, I really enjoyed the pineapple icing we made (pineapple juice as the liquid in a standard powerd sugar+liquid icing).  I highly recommend that you give this one a try – especially if you have kids who love to help out!  You still have one week to get in on the PMOW challenge, so head on over to Natalie’s blog, Oven Love, for details and the recipe!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2009 7:55 pm

    Gorgeous! Love them – I definitely need to make homemade pop tarts sometime. And the flavor combo sounds fantastic!

  2. May 25, 2009 8:55 am

    they look so yummy – i’m glad you had such fun making them!

  3. May 25, 2009 1:18 pm

    Your brother did a great job! That sounds like a great flavor combo, too.

  4. May 26, 2009 6:12 am

    OOh. These look perfect! Can you make the brown sugar cinnamon ones next and send me some? Here’s my address…:)

  5. Sarah permalink
    May 28, 2009 12:14 am

    i desperately want to eat these. move back and make them for me lol

  6. June 3, 2009 7:39 pm

    Your Pop Tarts look delicious! Thanks for checking out my site… looking forward to reading more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

