Skip to content

Tuesdays with Dorie: chipster topped brownies

May 26, 2009

How many times have you been to a function where you were forced to decide between the chocolate chip cookies and the brownies because indulging in both just seemed like too much?  Well, fear no more because Dorie Greenspan has solved this little problem by combining the two into the scrumptious chipster topped brownies, this weeks TWD selection.

chipster brownie 1

You know, not that this is any less decadent than having them separately.  

The cookie layer on top acts as a shield so the brownies below stay super moist and delicious, making the texture combination incredible.  One person asked how I got that lovely gooey layer between the cookie and the brownie.  The answer: I don’t know (except, you know, underbaking), but I wouldn’t change it for the world.  The results were perfect.  

chipster brownies 2

I made the entire recipe to share with my mom’s ladies class at church, and they devoured my plate.  Not at first, mind you because it was first thing in the morning.  But word of mouth can be quite powerful in a ladies class, so they spread like wild!  And thank goodness because if they had come home with me, I might have gone into a sugar coma due to my really low self control around them.

My favorite comment?
“So, are you going to be some sort of chef?”
“No, I’m going to be an engineer.”
[makes face]

chipster brownies 3So I would like to send a huge “Thank you!” to Beth of Supplicious for choosing this recipe for the week.  You can find the  recipe over on her blog or refer to pgs 94-95 of Baking from my Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2009 3:05 pm

    LOL LOL I’m glad the undercookind succeeded for someone!!! LOL How to make the best out of challenges, huh? …like seeing the glass half full instead of half empty… lol

    Glad you enjoyed them… they look great.

  2. May 26, 2009 5:01 pm

    Love the post! Way to make the church ladies happy. A two-for-one indulgence can’t be twice as bad for us, right?

  3. May 26, 2009 5:54 pm

    Yours look so nice and neat. I couldn’t figure out how to spread the cookie dough over the brownie dough, but you obviously did! They look delicious. Congrats.

  4. May 26, 2009 7:19 pm

    Hahahaha – love the comment! I get that all the time at work, with people asking when I’m going to quit my engineering job and open a bakery. I tell them it’ll happen when bakers make as much as engineers 😛 Your cookies look perfect!

  5. May 26, 2009 9:52 pm

    Looks delicious. Lucky ladies! You can bring some to my house next time.

  6. Sarah permalink
    May 27, 2009 8:22 am

    loving the comment. very nice

  7. May 27, 2009 9:19 am

    Hahaha I love the underbaking comment!!! The cookie layer looks like absolute perfection! Gorgeous job!

  8. May 27, 2009 9:54 am

    Ohh, that gooeyness looks lovely and yummy! I always like to undercook brownies 🙂

  9. May 27, 2009 5:23 pm

    Wow, they look perfect. I think that engineers (and scientists, like me!) make good bakers, because they’re good with details and are often perfectionists.

  10. May 28, 2009 7:26 am

    Yeah for engineers! that bake! LOL

    Your brownies slash chocolate chip cookies look wonderful. I envy that gooey layer 🙂 Looks like you got it perfect.

  11. May 28, 2009 8:14 pm

    they look beautiful! looks like you are an engineer and a chef!

  12. May 30, 2009 9:23 pm

    Great job figuring out a way to get that bonus gooey layer in there! 🙂 I had that too, except it wasn’t a layer so much as the whole brownie. No wonder yours were a hit – they look perfect!

Leave a Reply

