Skip to content

Tuesdays with Dorie: cinnamon squares

June 2, 2009

cinnamon sq 1

You know how you have those weekends.  The one’s where you think to yourself “this has been the most stressful weekend I have ever experienced in my life!”  And it’s only Saturday morning.

That was me this weekend.  Unfortunately for you, my dear readers, the multiple dramas of the weekend were all related to close friends and family, so they would probably disown me if I shared too much with the entire internet community.  I tease you this way because these weekend stresses were actually important in the life of these cinnamon squares.  Let me explain.

I made this cake on Friday afternoon, but the whole while I was thinking, “Why didn’t I make this weeks ago before I moved?  Cinnamon Squares…really?  I should have given these to Joey.”  Joey and cinnamon are tight.  It just felt wrong to make such a desert and not give him at least a piece.  But as luck would have it, a major friend emergency would draw me back to town (luckily I’m still just an hour and a half away, so such things are possible), so I called Joey to tell him I had to meet up to give him the squares, which I did as quickly as possible so as not to leave the emergency friend out in the dust.  So because of the stresses of the weekend, I was able to give my cinnamon squares the final resting place the deserved.  Yay!

So there you have it.  Unfortunately the photography of the squares suffered as a result, because I was dragging them and my camera all over the place and finding the time to take pictures by running ahead of people and photographing while they caught up.  Literally.  So sorry if the fact that the pics are on a tupperware lid in places like a parking lot or theater floor bothers you.  I was just glad I got a couple pictures and didn’t lose my camera.   Well, at one point I actually did think my camera was gone forever, and I was a bit excited.  I have been contemplating an upgrade, and that really would have been the perfect excuse.  Any good recommendations?

cinnamon sq 2

So on to the food itself:

It was a good thing Dorie named these cinnamon squares rather than cinnamon cubes!  My cake domed up, leaving the top uneven, and it was so yummy, I just could bring myself to level it off.  Well, we’ll just say that was it, but really it probably had more to do with the fact that about that time the police stopped by to fill out a report.  (Don’t worry it was nothing super major.)  That’s all your getting 😉

I did switch it up a bit though.  Remember a few weeks ago when we made tiramisu cake?  I bought the espresso powder then even though I don’t drink espresso because I know tiramisu needs espresso.  But then I moved, and left it behind with a roommate.  I wasn’t about to buy yet another thing of instant espresso again just to leave it behind (again) when I move away because I can’t fit it in my tiny car.  You have to draw the line somewhere.  But I was worried that the squares would be missing that little extra dimension.  So I infused my milk with chai tea (overnight, in the refrigerator) and that little extra flavor kick melded wonderfully with the cinnamon and chocolate!  It was perfect!

This weeks selection was chosen by Tracey of Tracey’s Culinary Adventures!  It was really an excellent choice!  The recipe can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s book Baking: From My Home to Yours. Or check out Tracey’s blog–she will probably have the recipe up soon if it isn’t already there!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2009 7:37 am

    I’m glad this worked out for you! It did smell Heavenly, but something went wrong with mine. Amazingly, my ribbon didn’t sink LOL

  2. June 2, 2009 12:09 pm

    I sure do hope you take time to recover from that week-end… especially with a couple left (hopefully) of those great cinnamon squares… should be a breeze!

    Well done!

  3. June 2, 2009 12:38 pm

    Cute blog. Great stories. Glad you got the cubes made and they were tasty. Way to go with the tea infusion! Yours look great! Thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. June 2, 2009 1:10 pm

    Love chai tea, very good idea! Those look absolutely delicious!

  5. Sarah permalink
    June 2, 2009 4:48 pm

    these sound fantastic, so glad joey got a piece. cinnamon anything not being served to joey is sacrilege

    i hate that i didnt see you though!

    the chia tea thing is brilliance

  6. June 2, 2009 9:23 pm

    These look beautiful, and I think that your pictures are great! Glad that you enjoyed them!

  7. June 6, 2009 3:36 pm

    What a great chai tea idea! And your pictures are fine! I don’t care where you take them. Some of mine are taken at work with dirt in the background! What’s more important is baking and EATING 😉 Thanks for stopping by my little blog. See you next week for those yummy tarts!

  8. June 8, 2009 9:58 am

    Your pictures look great! These were fantastic squares (or cubes haha) and yours look like perfection!

  9. Andrea permalink
    June 11, 2009 10:09 pm

    Hi there! These treats were very yummy in fact, especially for you coming to my rescue!

    Your Emergency Friend!

Leave a Reply

