Skip to content

Tuesdays with Dorie: parisian peach tartlet

June 9, 2009

mmmm….peaches.

persian peach tart

Peaches have always had a soft spot in my heart because my grandma always had a peach tree in her back yard.  My cousin and I loved to run out there and gather the ripe and fallen peaches every day this time of year.  So of course, when the Parisian Apple Tartlet was announced, and it was peach season, I made a Parisian Peach Tartlet.  I’m a rebel, I know.  (Well, not really, but sometime I like to pretend 😉 )

persian peach tart2

It’s really beautiful and delicious just like that, but if you want to really amp it up in both the color and taste department, you could add some fresh raspberries:

persian peach tart rasp

Or, if it’s someone’s birthday, you could add some icecream and stick a candle in the ice cream.  I forgot to take a picture of the candle one, but you get the idea:

persian pear tart

This was such a simple desert to make (just a little fresh fruit plus butter and brown sugar on some puff pastry and bake) and yields such stellar results.  If you want an actual recipe, I recommend getting Baking From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan.  Or you could just head over to Jessica’s blog – she chose this wonderful recipe and is quite likely to have the recipe posted by the end of the day!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2009 10:01 am

    I can’t wait to try it with peaches! These look amazing!!

  2. June 9, 2009 10:29 am

    Oooh fruit from your Grandma’s trees sound fun. I would love to have fruit from my own trees. These look great.

  3. June 9, 2009 3:05 pm

    mmmm….I SO wanted to serve mine with ice cream–my mouth couldnt wait. I ate it before dessert time. So worth it!

  4. June 9, 2009 9:08 pm

    I loved my peach one too! It would be nice to have home-grown (or home-fallen!) ones though…

  5. June 9, 2009 10:03 pm

    peaches, raspberries, ice cream — i’m totally craving another tartlet right now!

  6. June 10, 2009 7:14 am

    Yours looks delicious and I’m so jealous of how nicely your puff pastry came up around the fruit. Peaches and raspberries and ice cream, I would be in serious dessert heaven.

  7. June 10, 2009 11:13 pm

    Oh wow, a peach tree in her yard? That’s so cool! Your tartlet looks great – the pastry really rose beautifully.

  8. June 11, 2009 5:29 pm

    What are you talking about? Of course you’re a rebel 🙂 Love the use of peaches – I was worried about them being too liquid-y, but it looks like they turned out wonderfully!

  9. June 11, 2009 10:19 pm

    Such a nice tart…peaches…raspberries and ice cream, look really yummie! Nice pictures.

  10. June 16, 2009 4:02 pm

    I’m so sorry I didn’t get to your blog last week – just wanted to thank you for baking along with me! 🙂 I had a peach version, too, and loved it!

Leave a Reply

