Skip to content

Tuesdays with Dorie: coconut-roasted pineapple dacquoise

June 23, 2009

So it has been a whirlwind couple of weeks, and obviously my blog has suffered!  I am into my final week of the big move and should be into my new apartment on Monday!  

pc daquoise 1

Last week I was spending time with my grandma and made the coconut-roasted pineapple dacquoise there.  Although, in our frenzy to get out the door to head over to my uncle’s house, there were a few…um…little mishaps.  

pc daquoise 3

For starters, for an engineer, I am simply wretched at math.  So when I halved the recipe, I quartered the area of the meringue sheets.  Because, you know, I’m cool like that.  So my thin meringue sheets weren’t so thin.  I compensated by making the rest thicker.  

Next, I realized as I was adding the coconut that it was sweetened coconut instead of unsweetened.  So I omitted the powered sugar from the coconut/almond blend.  

Finally, my family was really feeling the effects of having multiple batches of ice cream and other creams last week, so we decided to sub milk in for the cream.  Of course, the ganache didn’t harden, so I ‘chilled’ it in the freezer for a bit.  

pc daquoise 2

With all of this to consider, the result turned out shockingly well!  While I thought it was a touch too sweet, everyone else in the fam loved it!  I will definitely have to make it again using the actual directions.  

Andrea of Andrea in the Kitchen chose this week’s recipe.  She already has the recipe posted up on her blog, so head on over to check it out.  

As for me, the food making and blogging should pick back up shortly after I move in next week ;)!!

pc daquoise 4

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2009 6:58 am

    I just love it when things work out! Your experience sounds like many that I’ve had and it looks like you made it work for you. Well done. I love the stack — it looks adorable. Good luck with the rest of your move.

  2. June 23, 2009 9:31 am

    Yours looks so cute! Glad you enjoyed.

  3. June 27, 2009 1:20 pm

    Yeesh – I hope things are beginning to calm down on the whole moving front! And if it makes you feel better, you weren’t the only one to do the quarter the area thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

