Skip to content

Tuesdays with Dorie: perfect party cake

June 30, 2009

By the time you read this post, I will have completed the move!  Unfortunately, due to amazing technology, it is still early June as I write this and I have many many miles left to travel.  All this doesn’t matter right now, though, because this perfect party cake was so good!

perfect party cake 1

I skipped the coconut on this one–not because I don’t like coconut or anything but because fresh raspberries sounded so amazing!  I made this cake for my uncle’s birthday, and everyone loved it.  We all thought the buttercream was great and lemony.  I have heard elsewhere that it tastes too much of butter, but I think my lemons were strong so I didn’t have this problem!

perfect party cake 2

Speaking of lemons, I didn’t have a microplane to do my zesting with, and Dorie left an amazing tips page on the TWD website where she warned against using too thick of zest.  So I skipped out on the zest and just doubled the lemon extract.  The result was lemony and delicious.  Mixed with the raspberry preserves and topped with fresh raspberries, this party cake was indeed perfect.  

perfect party cake 3

Carol of mix, mix…stir, stir chose this week’s recipe.  You can find the recipe either on her blog.  After you head over there, I would go straight to pick up the cookbook: Baking From my Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan.  

Once you have the cookbook and you make this cake, I have just one warning. Guard the cake carefully before it hits the table or you might notice some missing parts:
perfect party cake final

Although, no hard feelings–those raspberries did look tempting!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2009 7:16 am

    It looks so perfect! I love the picture at the beginning of your post — the raspberries look like red polka dots. It’s an adorable cake, and I’m so glad that your family enjoyed it. How did you get your icing and jam layers to be so distinct and perfect?

  2. July 5, 2009 3:17 pm

    Gorgeous! You’re so lucky you had something to bring it to – I bailed because really? Another layer cake?!?

  3. July 6, 2009 1:11 am

    Love the raspberries — I’d take them over coconut any day!

Leave a Reply

