Skip to content

Tuesdays with Dorie: tribute to Katherine Hepburn brownies

July 7, 2009

I have moved!  

Well, all of my stuff is in my apartment anyway.  Last weekend instead of doing the sensible thing and getting situated, I went up to Boston for the 4th to visit the boyfriend’s family.  It was a great time.  But it meant that last night after work I had to wash all of my dishes (either new or dusty from the move) so they would be clean so I could make the brownies.  

KH brownie 1

The brownies turned out perfectly.  Although, I’m not entirely sure how closely I followed the recipe since my only measuring devices were a glass thingy for liquids (which I borrowed), a large spoon of the table, and my hand.  (Fyi, generally 2 large spoons of the table, leveled off = 1 Tbsp.  So I think I was able to get the 1/4 c flour right, but they are new spoons so I didn’t check them for accuracy on that one.)  Tonight I will go out and buy measuring devices.

I think the key in my brownie success was in one particular “I just moved out of College Station and feel the need to buy things to celebrate” mood.  There was a sale, so I bought an oven thermometer.  Yes, you read that right.  I have an oven thermometer, but no measuring utensils.  I’m weird like that.  Because of my thermometer, I was able to maintain my oven at a semi-constant 325 rather than the 350 it wanted to stay at.

KH brownie 2

And the brownies were fantastic!  Quite possibly the best brownies I have ever made, so I really hope I can duplicate whatever I did in the future.  Not that you can tell it from the pics.  My camera was lost in some box on the last leg of my move and remains unseen at the moment.  So these pictures were taken late at night (after work and washing every single dish I own and dinner, it was late at night) on a cell phone.  Work with what you’ve got, right?

But if you want the recipe, head over to the guest host for this week’s TWD: Lisa of Surviving Oz or pick up the book.  These were really delish so I suggest you do it.  Lisa made the new TWD logo which is really awesome!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    July 8, 2009 9:19 pm

    bahahahah i love your lack of measuring and your thermometerness. i wish i could cleverly express the deep affection i felt after reading this.

Leave a Reply

