Skip to content

Parmesan Pepper Biscotti

July 24, 2009

biscotti 1

Beginning something new can be exciting.  Scary.  Inspiring.  I have always loved trying new things, but occasionally there is that moment when you think, “is this really right for me?”  Take for example, my recent move.  I know it was the right decision for me; I really wasn’t happy with my old job, and this new program seems much more suited for me.  Plus, I have always wanted to try out city life, and now I have the chance.  However, I loved my friends down in Texas, and staying would have been easy.  It would have been comfortable.

Sometimes, getting out of your comfort zone is important.  But that doesn’t mean such a big move wasn’t nerve wracking.  Now, I’m settling into life here, though–earlier this week I made my first quantum dots (even sounds cool, right?  Plus the ones I made glow green under UV light!) and my kitchen is almost fully stocked.  (Although the rest of my apartment is severely lacking: bed? no.  couch? no. dresser? no.  What can I say?  I have priorities.)

About 7 months ago, I began something else: baking.  One day when I had some friends coming over I decided to go all out and bake both biscotti and an apple upside down cake.  Both were extremely delicious and now hold a special place for me because they are the reasons I continued baking.

Trying something new can be daunting, but often these new things turn into the most rewarding.  Few things, however, are more edifying than opportunities to share these new passions with old friends. 

Last week, when I went to a good friends wedding out in Boulder, I had the great opportunity to meet up with some of my very best friends.  We all found it interesting that even though a few years have passed since we graduated and we have all grown more into our own people, we have all developed similar hobbies–cooking and baking in particular.

That’s why I found it only fitting to bake the savory biscotti that got me into baking for one of the friend’s birthdays.  This worked out especially well for me because not only did I get her a birthday gift, she shared with all of us as we hiked up the mountains outside of Boulder.  The biscotti worked wonderfully as mountain climbing nourishment!

The biscotti is Parmesan Pepper Biscitti (from Gourmet) and is wonderful alone but also great with tea or wine.  I must confess that I added a bit more pepper than the recipe called for.  I do love pepper, and just cracked it from my pepper grinder rather than putting the specified amount in a coffee grinder.

biscotti 2

 

P.S. Speaking of trying new things, The Berry Bushel is now on twitter!!!  Follow me (@berrybushel) for the twitter fun!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2009 8:43 am

    That biscotti looks like it would be wonderful with a glass of wine. I’m going to bookmark this recipe — it looks like a great hostess present! I’m glad you had fun in Boulder! I have family there, and it’s such a wonderful place.

  2. July 24, 2009 11:12 am

    I know that picture! I was there 🙂 And I’ll have you know, the remaining biscotti made a really good dinner on the flight back!

Leave a Reply

