Skip to content

TWD: vanilla ice cream

July 28, 2009

When my mom was a little girl she was allowed to eat whatever she wanted for breakfast, as long as she could justify it.  Pie?  It has fruit in it.  Or nuts.  Or dairy.  Chocolate pudding?  Dairy.  Cake?  Does it have fruit filling?  If not, it isn’t really all that different from a doughnut. 

I was so jealous of my mother.

Actually, I never once thought she could have been pulling my leg until right now as I’m writing this post.  I mean occasionally, sure, have pie for breakfast.  But this must have been an exaggeration.  I am terribly gullible.

I’m sure you can see where this is going:

van ice cream

My justifications are as follows: (i) Dairy (obviously) (ii) Fruit (my aunt’s canned pears that she says go famously with vanilla ice cream and I have been dying to try) (iii) I would have had it for dessert last night, but there was no natural light left.  There was natural light in the morning, so I just waited to have my dessert until this morning.  (iv) it can’t be worse than a doughnut, right? (this excuse works for everything except really really big doughnuts.)

Okay, so I still had ice cream for breakfast, but I did work out.  I should be able to eat whatever I want, right? (If only that logic actually worked…)  And it was good. Rich, creamy, wonderful.  Well, to be honest, maybe a little too rich, creamy, wonderful for breakfast.  I only ate about 1/3 of my bowl and put the rest back in the freezer for dessert. 

I would say this ice cream was worth the effort.  (I don’t have an ice cream maker, so I had to do it the old fashioned way, and I still say that!)  Lynne of Cafe Lynnylu chose the recipe for this week–Great pick, Lynne!  Next time I make it (i.e. next time I’m home with enough time to stir ever 30 mins for forever) I think I’ll do stracciatella.  I love that stuff.

van ice cream 2

Maybe by then I’ll have unpacked my pretty little desert bowls and have an ice scoop so I can take more beautiful pictures.  Or just be awake enough (ie post breakfast) to do such a thing 😉

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2009 11:30 am

    There is nothing wrong with ice cream for breakfast – especially that delicious combo you have right there!

  2. July 28, 2009 2:02 pm

    It sounds so good with the pears. Very breakfast-y!

  3. July 28, 2009 5:17 pm

    The need for natural light for pictures makes us do the funniest things, doesn’t it? But, I think that pears and ice cream for breakfast is perfectly fine! I’m so impressed that you made the ice cream by hand. I snagged my parents’ ice cream maker, but I think that some time I definitely need to try making ice cream by hand. I just have this idea that it will taste better that way!

  4. July 28, 2009 6:36 pm

    Yum, I would totally eat that for breakfast!

  5. July 29, 2009 6:22 pm

    so funny, I’m always justifying eating dessert for breakfast!

  6. July 29, 2009 9:19 pm

    Holy moly, you had to do it by hand? Girl! You are good 😉 Looks fabulous, and I have always thought that dessert for breakfast is better for you than dessert after dinner. At least you have the rest of the day to work it off LOL

  7. July 30, 2009 2:07 am

    Justification. It’s all in how you look at it, which is how I managed to eat so much pie for breakfast growing up 😛

  8. July 30, 2009 1:46 pm

    Your ice cream looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

