Skip to content

PMOW: Pretzels

August 2, 2009

Pretzel 1

Up until a few years ago, I hated pretzels.  Just the thought of them seemed unpleasant–don’t ask me why.  I generally try to be pretty open minded with my food, but with pretzels I was not.  I had it in my head that pretzels were tiny, crunchy, salty things that always just left me wanting more water.  And if there is one thing I hate, it is a dry mouth.  Ick.

Finally, somehow, someone convinced me that there was a major difference between large, yummy pretzels and the small dry ones that come in a bag.  My eyes were opened!

Pretzel

And now, thanks to Pre-Made Our Way, the challenge started and run by Natalie over at Oven Love, not only can I enjoy the delicious morsels, I can make them too!  I loved watching these suckers grow in the baking soda bath; it gave me quite a feeling of accomplishment.  

Next time I make this, I’ll probably knead the dough a little more than I did.  Without a mixer, I did the kneading by hand which wasn’t too bad for this dough, but my impatience won out.  A little extra time and effort and these bad boys would have gone from “wow!” to “oh. wow.”  Also next time, I might try my hand at a cinnamon sugar or nutty sweet version of the pretzel…that would be yummy!

I did love eating these, though!  While mustard is traditional, I personally prefer dipping the pretzels in a little spicy tomato sauce, so while the pretzels were baking and cooling a bit, I whipped one up.  Together, this was one killer combo!

Pretzel 3

If you, too, want to make these pretzels you can head over to the PMOW challenge info where the recipe is listed!  And if you do it in the next 12 hours you can even join in on the PMOW fun!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 3:15 am

    I’m a sucker for honey mustard with pretzels – so good, spicy with a little sweetness. Your pretzels look wonderful!

  2. August 8, 2009 8:08 pm

    Your pretzels look great… Homemade pretzels beat store bought pretzels any day! I loved this PMOW challenge – glad to see others enjoyed the pretzels, too!

Leave a Reply

