Skip to content

Simply Pears

August 8, 2009

Every summer, I take the fresh fruit for granted.  And every winter I miss it.

Take pears, for example.  Not only are they one of the most delicious things around, they’re pretty darn photogenic, don’t you think?

pears

Farmers markets are great for bringing back that appreciation of summer deliciousness.  The sweet fragrances of the produce are almost intoxicating. Oh, and the colors!   The colors can brighten even the sourest of moods, especially when combined with  fresh air and a light breeze on a lovely day.  I think farmers markets are some of my absolute favorite places.  Hopefully I’m not alone here!  (Although, a decent produce section in a simple grocery store usually does the trick for me…but it still isn’t the same.)

But back to pears.  I love ’em!  While they’re wonderful in all sorts of fancy, complicated things, sometimes the best way to enjoy a pear is raw, with maybe a few accompaniments.  I’ll leave you with this simple recipe (if you can call it that–there really isn’t much to it!) for a delightful pear appetizer/side dish/desert.  

Before you go, though, tell me: what is your favorite way to eat a pear?

pear salad

Gorgonzola Pears

Pears
Gorgonzola cheese
Honey or
Balsamic vinegar (optional) 

Slice the pears, and arrange on a plate.  crumble the blue cheese on top, averaging about one crumble per pear slice (or to your taste).  Lightly drizzle honey, balsamic vinegar (my personal favorite), or both over the pears.  Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:11 pm

    I love blue cheese with pears. So simple and delicious. YUm.

  2. August 11, 2009 7:19 pm

    My favorite way to eat a pear is just the way you made them. I use creamy gorgonzola dolce and drizzle with a little balsamic. Delicioso!

Trackbacks

  1. FoodieView Blog » Recipe Roundup: Delicious Holiday Side Dishes

Leave a Reply

