Skip to content

TWD: brownie buttons

August 11, 2009

Last week’s Tuesdays with Dorie took me into a new and beautiful land.  That is to say, I made my first bundt cake (well, mini bundts).  It was love at first bite, so I obviously had to go back for more.  Since I don’t have a mini muffin pan, the decision to make the brownie buttons into brownie bundts was pretty clear cut.

brownie buttons

The brownies themselves were pretty good.  If you like slightly cake-y brownies, I think these will be right up your alley, a wonderful treat for a hot summer’s day.

What I absolutely loved about these brownies, though, is the addition of the orange zest.  It really shines through, giving the dessert an extra layer of complexity, and completes the taste in your mouth.  I will definitely use orange zest in future brownie recipes, whether or not I am starting with this brownie button brownie recipe.

brownie buttons II

Those Two Scientists Experimenting in the Kitchen sure know how to pick a recipe!  Thanks, Jayma, for a wonderful choice this week!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2009 11:07 am

    Love the brownie bundt – adorable! 🙂

  2. August 11, 2009 11:26 am

    so cute! glad to know the orange zest was helpful

  3. August 11, 2009 11:46 am

    Your bundt brownie looks great! Maybe I should have used the orange zest to up the excitement level a little.

  4. August 11, 2009 12:36 pm

    I love the mini bundt version of these brownies. I have this feeling that they were probably better in this shape. The mini version dusted with powdered sugar is gorgeous.

  5. uclala permalink
    August 11, 2009 2:45 pm

    Brownie mini-bundts – soo cute! I might have to try that out!

  6. August 13, 2009 11:04 am

    I loved these as well!!! I was surprised that the reviews were so mixed! But I love love love your mini bundt cakes! They are too cute!

  7. bethberg12 permalink
    August 13, 2009 1:51 pm

    Hey! Glad you liked mine 🙂 I use the Chipotle Peppers in Adobo sauce that comes in a little tin at the grocery store.

    Usually, I’ll put in 1-2 tsp of the just the sauce, straight from the can, then taste the batter, and then adjust accordingly. That adds a good smokey taste without a strong heat. If you want more heat, take a small piece of the pepper (using a fork, not your fingers!), making sure it’s free of seeds, and mash/mince it finely. I used about 1/2 tsp of minced pepper and 1 tsp of sauce. The recipe also made a small amount of batter, hence the tsp-sized additions. If I’m making chili or something larger, I chop up a whole pepper (without the seeds).

    Keep in mind though, the heat and spice will develop while it cooks and then again while they sit. Don’t overdo it!

  8. teaandscones permalink
    August 14, 2009 8:25 pm

    Ah, mini bundt, great idea with this recipe. They look delicious.

Leave a Reply

