Skip to content

TWD: applesauce spice bars

August 18, 2009

applesaucebar

To make a summertime girl like me ready for the fall is no minor task.  My birthday is on the first day of summer.  School’s out during the summer (and I’m still in grad school so I still care a little…)  It’s nice and hot during the summer.  Summertime is time to travel and see friends.  I love summer.

But friends, when I was making these applesauce spice bars in my sweltering kitchen, I was ready for fall.  When I ate them, I thought of the leaves falling and how much fun it will be to step on all of them.  I thought of the apple cider.  I thought of the going back to school (which–call me crazy–still excites me a little).  I imagined myself snuggled up under a blanket with some hot tea reading a nice book.  I suddenly can’t wait for fall!

A few technical notes:  I halved this recipe and cooked it up in a 9′ bread pan which worked wonderfully.  I also cooked the glaze a touch too long and then waited just a touch too long again to put in on my bars; consequently, I ended up with more of a crumble than a glaze.  No worries, it was delicious and I didn’t have to wait for it to cool!  Also, the crumble worked wonderfully on top of vanilla ice cream to tie it all together.

Karen from Something Sweet by Karen chose this week’s recipe, and you should definitely head on over to Karen’s site where she has the recipe posted or get the book by Dorie Greenspan.  Anything that can singlehandedly ready me for fall is a winner for sure.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2009 10:06 am

    Glad to hear you liked it (even for a summer gal!)

  2. August 18, 2009 10:49 am

    Yum – looks delicious! That’s interesting that your glaze became a crumble…I bet it was great!

  3. August 18, 2009 5:34 pm

    Looks great! I skipped these, so I’m still enjoying summer : )

  4. August 19, 2009 5:20 pm

    AAAHH!!! Those look really tasty. Love it with the slice of apple.

  5. August 19, 2009 6:34 pm

    I dunno, I’m a July baby, and I can’t WAIT for fall – definitely my favorite season, full of crisp air and cool afternoons, falling leaves and desserts like this one. Yours look wonderful!

  6. August 20, 2009 4:54 am

    I went to make a cobbler and it turned into a crumble. I just love the oatmeal crust. So good!

  7. August 21, 2009 11:02 pm

    This recipe TOTALLY has me longing for fall! And I LOVE your presentation!

Leave a Reply

