Skip to content

TWD: chocolate souffle

September 8, 2009

souffle1

A few Christmases ago, my family decided to a gift exchange rather than going all out crazy overboard on Christmas gifts.  We were each given a modest budget and sat down to get creative about what different people would love.  My then 11 year old brother drew my name that year and his gift was so very touching.

He knew how I had dreamt of a stand mixer and so he made it his mission to find one that he could afford, which he did.  The look on his face of such pride and love when I opened the gift is something I will never forget.  I will always cherish how much thought he put into the gift at an age when usually you would just let you mom pick out the gift.  My mom assures me it was fully his idea, from start to finish 

Unfortunately, stand mixers purchased on modest budgets often do not work very well.

So when I was sorting through my belongings before my big move, I decided it was time for me to upgrade to a good quality hand mixer.  Before the move, I dropped off the old mixer with my mom and brothers for “safe keeping” and was electronic-mixer-less for a good 2 months.  This was a sad time for me, but a happy time for my upper arm stamina!  Then, it happened…a sale!  Now, I am whipping up a storm: meringues, whipped creams, egg whites for cookies, and now souffle’s without a single thought of giving up!  

souffle2

This was, in fact, my first souffle.  It was a great one to start with and now I am inspired to try more!  The light, airy nature of the souffle combined with the taste of chocolate pudding and slightly crispy edges was very good.  Susan of She’s Becoming Doughmesstic picked out the souffle recipe.  It was a great choice–thanks, Susan!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 1:08 pm

    looks like it came out perfect! well done

  2. September 9, 2009 10:16 am

    Wow, for a first-time soufflé, that is very impressive! It looks perfect!

    Cute story about your brother and the stand-mixer… I’ll always remember how my father-in-law got me a Dutch oven one Christmas – a huge one, just like I wanted, even though I know he thought it was unpractical for me to use kitchenware I could barely lift. 🙂

  3. September 11, 2009 10:35 pm

    beautiful height on that souffle. Looks great.

    Aren’t family great when they do thinks like that??

  4. uclala permalink
    September 12, 2009 10:45 am

    That is the sweetest Christmas memory, love it!
    Your chocolate souffle looks absolutely lovely, I can’t believe it was your first attempt!

  5. September 12, 2009 11:23 am

    Beautiful story!
    Congratulations on your first soufflé!

  6. September 13, 2009 5:45 pm

    Your brothers really are adorable 🙂 And maybe I should keep myself away from my electric mixers for a while to get in my arm workouts? …Nah 🙂

Leave a Reply

