Skip to content

The Daring Cooks: Indian dosas

September 14, 2009

sept dk dosa1

Those of you who have been hanging around here for a while may have noticed a few changes on my site!  I’ve finally gotten around to updating a few things.  Hopefully this won’t be the end of the changes, but it is a slow (but maybe steady?) process.  Either way, I’m hoping to take this blog out of the dark ages!

Now, on to the important stuff.  This month’s Daring Cooks challenge is Indian dosas!  I really love Indian food, yet I often find myself thinking I can’t make it  because all of the Indian students I work with bring back spices from home to cook with.  This month I discovered that while I may be limited from making a few dishes due to lack of adequate spices, I am definitely not eliminated from the realm of Indian cooking.  Most of the spices have actually become pretty commonplace in even the most rural of supermarkets.

sept dk dosa2

I found the dosas to be not only delicious but fun to make!  They were basically like Indian crepes made by swirling the batter through the pan.  The only changes I made to the recipe were the addition of a hot pepper to kick up the heat a bit and the use of raw zucchini instead of cucumber (a slight mistake in my quick refrigerator review before going to the market…but I went with it 🙂 ).  

This was a great choice from Debyi from The Healthy  Vegan Kitchen!  To check out the recipe, just head over to the Daring Kitchen.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2009 1:45 am

    I am digging on the beggars purse presentation. Very original.

  2. September 14, 2009 1:52 am

    Ditto on the presentation remark, it’s really clever!

  3. September 14, 2009 12:47 pm

    I always appreciate when people take the time to add a creative touch to their food. Even small changes make it seem incredibly special and appetizing. You did a wonderful job, thank you.

  4. September 14, 2009 1:13 pm

    As with the previous two, I love the presentation of these – although I think my pancakes would tear (just my luck). Definitely like the new look on the site!

  5. September 14, 2009 1:28 pm

    Dosa purses! So cute!

    I too often feel discouraged by the stale spices I sometimes end up with here, but I decided it wasn’t a good enough excuse not to make Indian and other exotic dishes. Just because it’s not entirely “authentic” doesn’t mean it can’t be good! I’m sure your dosas were delicious! Mine were a little dry, but I still liked this challenge.

  6. September 14, 2009 3:55 pm

    Love your presentation, it’s like a little package of Indian goodness to eat! My dosas were definitely only capable of laying flat on a plate, haha. Site looks great by the way 🙂

  7. September 14, 2009 4:43 pm

    Great presentation! Anything tied up in a little pancake bundle has to be good!

  8. September 14, 2009 4:53 pm

    Your little parcels are so cute! The Daring Kitchen is so great for helping us realize that what we did not think was possible we can actually do. Have fun with the other Indian recipes you discover! 🙂

  9. September 14, 2009 5:55 pm

    What a nice presentation!

  10. September 14, 2009 6:42 pm

    I love your presentation/ The dosas really look great served this way. I hope you enjoyed them and the challenge.

  11. September 14, 2009 7:25 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed this challenge!! Your dosas are adorable in their bundles =D. Wonderful job!

  12. September 14, 2009 11:11 pm

    Once I saw the way you plated and ‘pursed’ these dosas over at the DK forum, prior to posting day, I couldn’t wait to tell you how beautiful and creative they are! Also, glad you liked how they turned out!!

  13. September 15, 2009 11:50 am

    Oh my! What a lovely blog! I’m new here 🙂 Stunning dosa purses, those are gorgeous!

  14. September 16, 2009 2:29 pm

    What a beautiful presentation! Glad you liked it – it looks really delicious!

  15. September 17, 2009 5:17 pm

    I love your presentation, like little presents!

  16. September 17, 2009 8:13 pm

    Little pouches of flavor. How cute are those??

    I adore Indian food but seldom make anything but curry. But I just tried Rasgulla and it was fairly easy.

    Hang in and good luck .

Leave a Reply

