Skip to content

TWD: chocolate-crunched caramel “tart”

September 29, 2009

choc carm 1

When I first joined Tuesdays with Dorie, I invested in the book and immediately began perusing the pages for fun things to make. My sights settled on this one.  I know I am not the only one who has had this experience since almost everyone I know who has picked up the book has oogled over the picture.  When Carla picked out the recipe, I was (first) surprised that it hadn’t been chosen before and (second) thrilled to make it.

choc carm 2

As I mentioned in my last post though, last week was k-razy!  I originally planned to just buy a premade crust, but then that didn’t even seem doable mid week.  I even made the ganash over the weekend to facilitate and encourage myself along.  When getting a crust didn’t seem likely, I poured my goods into ramekins and called it good.

choc carm bite 2

Wow. This makes one incredible spoon dessert!  It was my first experience making caramel and man was it not scary!  This was so tasty and I never missed the crust.  It lived up to (and maybe even surpassed, in my opinion) the photo.  I will definitely be making it again.

choc carm bite

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 5:21 am

    Wow..I really wish I could join TWD, as every recipe I see looks amazing. She’s so into chocolate and caramel..which is right up my alley. Your take on her tart looks decadent and gorgeous! Nicely done 🙂

  2. September 29, 2009 3:47 pm

    YUM! I love the tart filling in your photos, without the crust. I know what you mean about a delicious looking picture in the cookbook and was happy to see the recipe finally get picked.

  3. September 29, 2009 6:44 pm

    I like your peanut garnish! I made this in ramekins with a crust, but it would be good as a spoon dessert. It’s hard to go wrong with caramel and chocolate.

  4. September 30, 2009 9:29 am

    The crust is my least favorite part of any pie or tart, so I think that the spoon version of this tart is just PERFECT! Just looking at the caramel on the spoon is making my mouth water.

Leave a Reply

