Skip to content

Tomatillo Salsa

October 3, 2009

At the beginning of this past weekend, I did not want to be in Baltimore.

Please don’t get me wrong.  I love Baltimore.  It is one of my favorite places I have ever lived.  I love living in a place that friends want to visit and seafood is fresh!  Life is good.  Life is beautiful.  I just wanted to be elsewhere.

tomatillo salsa 2

You see, in Terre Haute, IN (the land of my alma mater and a place I never thought I would want to return to) it was homecoming weekend.  Friends were gathering and drama was afoot.  Reminiscing with old friends is one of the most wonderful things in the world.  Down in Little Rock, AR my mom and my grandma were having one big cooking festival from the sound of it!  Can you imagine anything better?  And of course, out in San Fransisco inspiring food bloggers were having a wonderful time at the conference.

It’s funny, though, how life brings us happy things we never knew to expect–this ended up being a great weekend to be in Baltimore!

For example, out here there was a fabulous book festival here where they closed down streets for people to walk up and down admiring and buying at all sorts of books.  New books.  Old books.  Book signings.  Cook books.  Cooking demonstrations.  It was marvelous.

I did not take my money to the book festival.  This is my simple strategy to keep myself from buying unnecessary things (and also a problem with internet shopping).  But that was an aside….

In addition to book fun, this weekend brought me tomatillo salsa.  Apparently, the boyfriend has a knack for making the stuff.  Who knew?  But my life now is all the better for it.

tomatillo salsa 1

Tomatillo Salsa

Like most salsas, it is difficult to provide a hard and fast recipe for this because the ingredients (most especially the peppers) have different intensities each time.  So start with the tomatillos then add the rest a little at a time until you get the balance just right!  Also, we made this in a toaster oven because it goes a little faster, but this could be easily adapted for broiling in the oven or even boiling.

6 Tomatillos
2 Cloves Garlic (or 3 really small ones!)
Hot Peppers (we used habanero and only ended up using 1/2 of it!)
Cilantro
1.5 T red onion, minced
Oil

Halve tomatillos and place face down on a toaster oven pan.  Toast for 7 minutes and allow to cool until you can handle them and remove the skins.  Meanwhile, toss the garlic and pepper in a little oil and toast for another 7 minutes.  The garlic should be softened at this point but not quite fully roasted.

Throw the tomatillos in a food processor and pulse a few times.  Cut off a little of your pepper and mince it.  Add garlic, 1 T red onion, a large pinch of cilantro, and a little of the pepper to the tomatillos and pulse to combine to your desired consistency.    Take a small taste to make sure nothing is getting too strong, then add the remainder of ingredients accordingly.

Don’t forget to wash your hands before rubbing your eyes!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

