Skip to content

Sauteed Cider Spinach

October 22, 2009

Even when it’s just for a short weekend, just getting out of town sometimes feels marvelous.  That’s why I love vacation.

chickupdate

I just love the animals, don’t you?

goat boost

The only problem with vacation is the part just before.  The part where everything must get done or the world, it seems, will surely end.  The part where you think to yourself, “I’m only going away for a Saturday and  Sunday how could I possibly have this much to do?”  The part where you decide not yet to post the delicious recipe utilizing chestnuts you promised a while ago for the sake of maintaining your own sanity.

But it is also the part filled with anticipation of the fun and relaxation to come.  The part where everything seems possible.

appletree

Needless to say, the trip up to Massachusetts was wonderful.  I even got to take my first trip to an apple orchard!  (I can’t believe I’d never been either.)  Although picking up a load of beautiful apples when you are a plane flight from home might not come highly recommended.  Don’t worry: it was pretty chilly up there (even snowed at the end!) so there were plenty of sweaters to cushion the beauties.

apple1

So now, I find myself with a wealth of apples to use up and much belated post to write.  A post about spinach.  Spinach sauteed in apple cider.  Delicious.

spinach

Sauteed Cider Spinach

A few notes: there is a local place near us that has wonderful ciders.  My favorite for this is cherry-apple cider, but it is also great with apple or pear ciders.  Also, chestnuts are very easily replaced by almonds, walnuts, pecans, or even sunflower seeds in a pinch.  It’s pretty easy to make it work with what you’ve got.

Also, my mom just phoned and when I told her about this post she let me know that the apples make it easier for your body to absorb the nutrients in the spinach.  Something about acidity levels or something.  She gave that to us for free.

1 c apple/cherry-apple cider
14 oz spinach (1 bag)
1/4 c roasted chestnuts, chopped
pinch of sea salt

In a saucepan, reduce the cider  to 1/4.  Add spinach, chestnuts, salt.  Toss until wilted.  Serve immediately.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 10:01 am

    I love your pictures. Goats always make me smile! 🙂

    I often make sautéed spinach as a side-dish, but this sounds like a nice change from the usual garlic and olive oil seasoning.

  2. Wendy permalink
    October 25, 2009 4:28 pm

    Great pictures! The spinach sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

