Skip to content

TWD: cherry-fudge torte

October 27, 2009

torte1

I would say that with this recipe, I was roughing it, but “roughing it” doesn’t usually involve mascarpone.  Me?  I was merely without a spring-form pan.

So I poured the batter in thoroughly greased muffin tins and baked away.  I had a little left over, so I poured it in a cake pan.  Unfortunately, there is definitely a reason to make this in a spring form pan–the cooked cake is quite delicate!  None of my little cupcakes came out whole!  Fortunately, the cake did survive!

I put a little less cream in mine because I wanted to make sure it stayed thick enough to spread on (ie no springform pan).

The resulting taste and texture I found quite delicious; however, I don’t think I will be making this one again until I have acquired the spring form pan.

If wanna give this one a try (it really is quite tasty), the recipe should be up on April’s blog Short + Rose sometime today.  Or, of course, you could refer to page 284 of BFMHTY.

torte2

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 12:51 pm

    Your cake was delicate?! Mine was like a hunk of fudgey awesomeness – no falling apart there! But thinner cakes = less per slice = healthier, right? And scraps (or broken muffin pieces) don’t count either 🙂

  2. Wendy permalink
    October 27, 2009 7:19 pm

    I agree thinner cake, smaller slices, less calories!

  3. October 27, 2009 7:53 pm

    I think the thin cake looks good. Less calories per slice is a good thing. 🙂

  4. October 28, 2009 6:59 am

    Your cake looks nice, and I bet even the crumbled cupcakes tasted good. I broke down and bought mini springform pans for this recipe. I’m sure they’ll come in handy again soon.

  5. October 29, 2009 8:39 pm

    I really need to get this Dorie cookbook, because I keep seeing these wonderful and yummy looking recipes from the TWD challenge, and your take on this cherry fudhe tart is no exception! It looks beautiful, and so tasty!

  6. uclala permalink
    October 30, 2009 1:16 pm

    Your brownie cake looks so elegant on your cake platter! A brownie crumble sounds just as good too! =)

  7. October 30, 2009 2:38 pm

    Thank you so much for baking with me this week! I’m sorry your cupcakes didn’t turn out, but I bet the cake was really tasty!

  8. November 8, 2009 2:32 pm

    I didn’t get to make this one, but everyone said it was tasty.

Leave a Reply

