Skip to content

TWD: molasses cookies

November 3, 2009

I like to think of myself as a kind, generous, giving person, but if I am really, truly honest with myself, I am forced to admit the horrible untruth of it.

MC1

In college, I was not the one who made a cake every Halloween for the masses.  I was not the one who baked delicious bread to share nor the one who built kites for everyone to play with.  I like to think of myself as giving, but I was not the one who gave us a pre-finals fondu night nor the one who brought the movies for Friday night or hosted the parties.

If I look back upon myself with complete and brutal honesty, I realize that I have a lot to learn in the ‘giving’ department.  Sometimes, I like to think that since I have started baking I have become more generous because I give away all sorts of desserts, yet when I look upon the facts, I see that maybe the truth is that I just bake way more than one girl should eat.  So I pass it along.

But I had never, never created anything that I couldn’t at least enjoy in part.  Why would I bake something that I know I won’t enjoy?  It sounds just silly.

So when the November TWD selections were posted, giving us the freedom to bake in whatever order we wanted, I knew I would be skipping the molasses cookies.  Molasses: ick.  I’ve never liked it.  (Apologies to all you molasses lovers out there.)  And I knew my week for not doing the molasses cookies would be this week.  A test, my first research presentation, a need to get out of the apartment and relax for a few minutes:  This week I could skip.

MC2

Then I told the bf of my plans not to do the molasses cookies and try though he might to hide his disappointment, the disappointment showed through.  But it wasn’t until he sincerely muttered those fateful words “No, don’t do it.  I’m sure I don’t need the sugar anyways…”  that I was hooked.  I mean, how could you turn that down? Well, and then Caitlin and Nancy conned me into it via twitter…

And, of course, the cookies were decent.  (Yes, I tasted them, of course.)  The aftertaste tasted terribly of molasses and required a chaser of apple cider, but the cookies themselves were not horrible.  Trust me, coming from me, that’s saying something.  The bf, of course, loved them.

Sometimes all it takes to jump start a new behavior trend is one simple act.  A simple act and a brutal evaluation.  It may sound silly, but for me these molasses cookies now symbolize the spirit of giving, the spirit of thinking of others first.  The spirit of going out of my way to help a neighbor.

Of course, one simple act is not enough to completely change a life style.  Thinking something and living it are two entirely different things.  How do you show your appreciation?  A treasured family pie for friends?  A casserole to a family in need?  Working at a soup kitchen?  Playing with your children on the floor when, really, you’d rather take a nap?

Molasses cookies. It’s the new slang for stopping to see the difference I can make.

MC3B

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 4:32 pm

    Too funny. Yeah that is how my cookies were supposed to look. Maybe next time.

  2. Wendy permalink
    November 3, 2009 7:27 pm

    Your cookies look great! I’m not a molasses fan either. I usually just sub Lyle’s Golden Syrup anytime a recipe calls for it. I did it for these cookies. Try it next time. People think they’re tasting molasses (but I think it’s just the molasses in brown sugar).

  3. November 3, 2009 9:36 pm

    Your cookies look fabulous. I am sure your bf was very grateful. Until they stopped it for lack of donations, I used to volunteer part of my Thanksgiving day working in the city feeding the homeless. It was my way of giving back.

  4. November 3, 2009 10:23 pm

    I hate molasses, it just smells funky. My brother used to always say that you can’t say molasses without saying a** because it smells so bad! That said, I don’t mind baked goods with molasses in them, so I must not hate it too much. I’m glad that you made these, they look beautiful, and it’s nice that your bf got to enjoy them!

  5. November 6, 2009 2:56 pm

    The cookies look great, and I enjoyed reading your post. Little reminders like that are always good for the soul.

  6. November 8, 2009 2:30 pm

    One sure way to become a giver – Join TWD!!!

    Cookies look perfect. Sorry you aren’t a fan, but glad the BF liked them.

  7. November 10, 2009 7:31 am

    I second Margaret’s comment. Impossible to eat all this stuff so you’ve got to give it away. Your cookies look very good.

  8. Joy permalink
    November 10, 2009 11:19 am

    Beautiful pictures! And great post! I can relate too well – and I think I’ve become more selfish in my baking. I’ve become more particular about my desserts, so I make what I like (the others in my home pretty much eat anything sweet). I’ve not tried these, yet, I’m hoping for next week. Or maybe I’ll make them for traveling for Thanksgiving.

  9. November 10, 2009 4:21 pm

    Your cookies look so good and I enjoyed reading your story!

Leave a Reply

