Skip to content

The Daring Cooks make Sushi!!!

November 14, 2009

Fear.

Some people are afraid of the dark.  Some, are afraid of heights.  Public speaking, we all know, is a very common fear.

Me, I am afraid of making rice.  (Although, I admittedly fall into the first category as well.)  This explains why I waited until the last minute to complete this challenge.  But it was a full success!

Sush1

Nigiri Sushi, tuna.

Sush2

Spiral roll with pickled kohlrabi and cucumber.

Sush3

Caterpillar roll with peppered tuna and cucumber on the inside, rice and avocado atop!

All in all, a great challenge!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2009 8:01 am

    LOL, i’m glad you have overcame your rice-cooking fear, your sushi looks yummy!

  2. November 15, 2009 12:29 pm

    I hate to admit it, (after all, im asian) but I used to be afraid of making rice too! No worries for you, the sushi looks good!

  3. November 15, 2009 5:16 pm

    Haha, I was kind of nervous about making sticky rice on the stove too, and was tempted to use my rice cooker (the only rice I’ve ever made on the stove is basmati – and it’s OK if you burn the bottom of basmati rice, it’s even recommended). Your dragon roll looks very cute, and I’m impressed with how thinly sliced your tuna is!

  4. teaandscones permalink
    November 15, 2009 11:29 pm

    FEAR!! is what kept me from doing this month’s challenge. Yours look great. Very good job. Maybe some day…..

  5. November 16, 2009 3:44 pm

    Seriously, I fear rice as well! When we were testing this recipe, I tried to use the rice cooker, thinking it would be better. BURNT rice. Ugh! Then I tried the pan way (as given in the DC Challenge) and it was PERFECT 😀

    I’m glad you had success with our challenge! Your sushi looks great 😀

  6. Wendy permalink
    November 16, 2009 5:18 pm

    Beautiful sushi!! Great job.

  7. November 16, 2009 8:45 pm

    Afraid of cooking rice? After all the rice we made through college? Although, we did have a rice cooker, which makes things infinitely easier… Your sushi look awesome!

Leave a Reply

