Skip to content

Black-Eyed Peas for the New Year

January 1, 2010

I have never been one to make New Years Resolutions.  I like to think that if I see something in my life that needs to be changed, I just change it without feeling the need to wait 3 months for a new beginning.

That’s not to say I have never made a new years resolution.  I one time caved into peer pressure and made my resolution: to break up with my boyfriend.  I no longer felt fulfilled with our between class note-passing and lack of all other forms of communication.  It took me almost a full three months, but I did it.  Then, I found out another two months after that (through a mutual friend) he had been grounded almost the entire span of our relationship.  Thus, the lack of communication.

I like to think I’ve come a long way since 9th grade.

This year, for the first time, I am making my own black eyed peas for my New Years Luck!  Throughout my years, I have had all sorts of black-eyed peas: southwestern style, in soup, plain, fresh picked on New Years morning, even canned, but I have always gotten my black-eyed peas.  And I’m not even superstitious, as evidenced by that one day when I broke mirrors underneath a ladder to decorate the sets for a musical.  It’s just tradition.

Although, a little luck never hurt anyone, right?

Actually, I think the reasoning is quite nice.  If you open the year with frugality (who can argue that black-eyed peas aren’t cheap?), it is a sign that you will make wise decisions throughout the year, and the luck will follow.

So here’s to 2010!  (and it’s still not too late to go get your black-eyed peas…)

Black-Eyed Peas

Since this was my first time making these, I went for simple: Peas, salt, ham, water.  And a little onion for fun.  There are plenty of great recipes all over the internet, but I just winged it.  I heated a bag of peas to boiling, covered with water, then turned off the heat and let sit covered for 1 hour.  Then, I discarded the water, and sauteed a red onion and 2 small ham hocks (you can easily use bacon or anything else here) until the onions were translucent.  I poured back in the peas, just covered with water and let simmer for about  a half hour.  Yum!

So that’s what I did today.  What do you do for your New Year?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 12:40 pm

    Hell yeah black eyed peas!! How many did you eat? Hopefully alot and then you will be rich!!

Leave a Reply

