Skip to content

TWD: Tarte Tartin

January 5, 2010

It’s hard to believe Tuesdays with Dorie has been going on for two years!  This might be, in part, due to the fact that I have only been involved for around 9 months or so.  But that’s beside the point.

A two year birthday/anniversary/whatever we’re calling it deserves a little reflection.  I will now commence my musings over how TWD has helped me grow as a baker, and in life.  Proceed with caution.

First of all, I really only started baking less than a year ago.  I made my first cake and biscotti mid-January after getting my first really lovely apron for a Christmas present because  I thought I should put the apron to use.  That was before I started blogging, so you will have to take my word on it, I don’t have any proof other than my absolutely loving the act of baking!  I became addicted to baking shortly thereafter and shortly after that I joined TWD.

I am notorious among people who know me for…shall we say…forgetting about “life” things for the sake of school.  “Wow, Charli, your hair looks really crazy.  When was the last time you got it cut?”  “Oh 6 months ago.  Before the semester started.”  No.  Nobody actually said that to me, but I’m sure they were thinking it.  Among the list of things that have fallen by the wayside in the past are bills, conversations with old friends, exercise, and food.  Yes, even food.  So I promised myself when I joined TWD that nomatter how bad the semester got, I would still keep up my duties.  And I (proudly) did.  Until the semester ended and I did nothing.  I am terribly sorry for dropping off the face of the internet.  But let’s not talk about that.  Burn out is no fun.

So, thank you, TWD for keeping me sane.

And, most importantly, I have become more comfortable in my kitchen.  Baking.  Recipes that once would have made me cower in fear now inspire me.  I don’t reach for the box mix because I realize how much more fun and delicious it can be to make it myself.  Plus, I have the added benefit of knowing what I put in whatever I make.  And now know recipes like this Tarte Tartin.  Even a week ago, I would not have know what this was.  I admit, I voted for it because it sounded just lovely.

It was easy and delicious, and I would eagerly make it again.  (Seriously: melt butter, add sugar, add apples, brown the bottom.  Cover with puff pastry, bake in oven, flip, cool.)  So thank you, everyone for choosing it, and thank you, Laurie for starting the wonderful group.

Now I want to go buy the bag to celebrate…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy permalink
    January 5, 2010 7:24 pm

    Your tarte looks wonderful. I’m glad you are back to baking. 🙂

  2. January 6, 2010 12:50 pm

    Your slice of tarte tatin looks wonderful! One thing I love about this group is discovering new recipes that I never heard of before!

  3. January 6, 2010 2:38 pm

    I agree with you I will make this tarte again too! Yours looks so good and I love the way the color came out! MIne was to light in color but so tasty!!
    Happy Anniversry TWD! It’s been fun baking with you and I look fwd to more baking adventures!

  4. mgdsue permalink
    January 6, 2010 3:05 pm

    For a new baker you did a fabulous job on your tarte! It looks delicious!

  5. January 6, 2010 7:57 pm

    I have the utmost faith in your baking 🙂 Your tarte looks perfect!

  6. January 7, 2010 10:38 am

    love that bag! Congrats on ALL of your TWD baking!

Leave a Reply

