Skip to content

TWD: chocolate oatmeal almost-candy bars

January 19, 2010

My oatmeal bars weren’t strictly to the recipe because in the midst of making the things, I realized:

1. I did not have peanuts.
2. I did not have raisins.
3. I did not have any baking pans of sufficient size.

It’s okay, though, because scruffling around my studio-sized pantry, I found the following things:

1. Chopped hazelnuts.  (yum!)
2. Dried cranberries.  (I simply wasn’t feeling these in the moment of baking.  So I did not put them in.)
3. Two small pans.  (maybe 6×9(?) and a bread pan.  This was still too small, so I had fat bars.)

Why I didn’t just half the recipe or something smart like that, I don’t know.  I’m an engineer.  I am supposed to love math.  But sometimes it’s nice to just scoop the flour and throw it in.

All that said, these were wonderful!  I think so, people at work said so.  So thank you, Lillian, from Confectiona’s Realm for the choice this week.  If anyone else wants to make these bad boys, you can just refer to her post with the recipe in it!  Or you can just buy the book…it’s good.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 3:52 pm

    looks like they turned out perfectly! No engineering degree required;)

  2. January 20, 2010 1:00 am

    Pantries are such a good resource to be able to rummage around in when in need of substitute ingredients. Hazelnuts and cranberries had to be great in these. Nice job.

  3. January 20, 2010 8:38 am

    I love it when you can scrounge in your pantry and come up with great substitutions — it’s even more fun than regular baking, I think. Your bars look wonderful, not too skinny, not too fat, just right.

  4. January 20, 2010 7:54 pm

    Ah, a successful pantry raid! My family loved these bars. This may have been their favorite TWD recipe yet.
    Mimi

  5. January 21, 2010 8:42 am

    Even with substitutions these bars look great! I subbed too, and I did use the dried cranberries! 😉

  6. January 22, 2010 9:33 am

    They look like they turned out great, and it sounds like they were a success! This is a forgiving recipe.

  7. February 2, 2010 11:48 pm

    I loved this sweet treat. I will make it again!

Leave a Reply

