Skip to content

TWD: cocoanana bread

January 26, 2010

When I first saw that C0coanana Bread was a choice this past month for TWD, I was terribly excited.  Then I was sad.  Then I was excited again.  In my mind there is a graph of my excitement with time on the x-axis and excitement on the y.  A stepwise function.

But before I drift off to complete nerd-land, let me first explain my emotional antics.

I was really in the mood for banana bread.  I went to the store.  I bought bananas.   I came home and set them on my counter to age.  It was at this point that I noticed cocoanana bread was a TWD choice for the month.  I fulfill my banana bread craving and get a TWD recipe off my to do list: major excitement.

Then it dawns on me the next day at work:  coco-nana bread?  But I don’t have coconut!!!  You can’t make coco-nana bread without the  coconut!!!  It’s not even that I don’t like coconut.  I just didn’t feel like going right back to the grocery store.  Believe it or not this brought me down for a solid two days.

…until I meekly realized it was cocoa not coco and all was saved.  I have plenty of cocoa powder hidden away somewhere.  Major excitement levels were restored.

After all that, the bread did indeed live up to expectations.  One person, who dislikes bananas even liked the bread.  Another said it was better than brownies!  It was some pretty delicious bread.  There was a very faint banana taste that was super yummy with the chocolate.

Good choice, Steph–I did enjoy this one!  If anyone else wants to give it a go, Steph has the recipe posted on her blog, or you can check out pg 46 of the book.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 9:06 pm

    What a beautiful dark rich chocolate color. It makes me want more of this bread!

  2. January 27, 2010 8:25 am

    Hahaha – sorry, but that’s just priceless. Glad you got over the horror and made this!

  3. January 27, 2010 12:20 pm

    now that you mention it, I think coconut would be great with bananas! good thing cocoa works too.

  4. teaandscones permalink
    January 28, 2010 10:17 am

    So pretty with the strawberries. Glad this one worked for you. Looks like it came out just right.

  5. January 30, 2010 11:10 am

    Your bread sounds delicious! thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. February 2, 2010 11:47 pm

    Coconut could be a fun addition! I thought this bread was great and I am not a banana fan.

Leave a Reply

