Skip to content

TWD: soft chocolate fruit tart

March 16, 2010

Lately, I have been making a strong effort to actually eat and use the food I buy from the market before buying more.  While the occasional extreme splurge on kale (call it a weakness, but those leaves always look so vibrant!) will leave me with wilted leaves after cooking with it every day of the week, this mindset has helped to refresh my cooking creativity–and my pocketbook.

Which brings me to this week’s TWD selection from Rachel at Mommy? I’m hungry!: Soft Chocolate Raspberry Tart.  Doesn’t that just sound divine?!?  Chocolate and raspberries are one of my all time favorite combination.  I will even go to great lengths to be able to dip raspberries in my chocolate fondue.  But that’s for another day.  This day, I was raspberry-less.  And I had recently succumbed to a sale on a family-sized pack of kiwis.  Friends, I am not a family-sized household. Plus, kiwis are a little tart like raspberries, right?

This week, I made two mini tarts.  One I used kiwi in, the other: small slices of pear.  To be honest, the pear was overpowered by the chocolate in that tart, so it was not my favorite.  In the showdown of chocolate+pear vs chocolate+kiwi, kiwi won.  Which honestly surprised me because chocolate and pear are delightful together.

I blotted both the kiwi and pear with paper towels to help keep down the moisture levels, and neither was overly ripe so the moisture was not a problem here.  All in all, this was a very fun week.  Admittedly, though, if I have raspberries around next time I will make it with them instead of kiwi.  Like I said: I really love chocolate with raspberries.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 12:02 pm

    What a fun experiment. I would have chosen the pears over kiwis too. Interesting that it worked out the opposite. I’m with you though. You really can’t beat chocolate+raspberry. Your mini tarts are so cute. Great job!
    -CB
    http://iheartfood4thought.com

  2. March 16, 2010 12:56 pm

    wow- chocolate and kiwi- who knew? I was lucky enough to have raspberries in the freezer- but I’m with you, I need to eat what I buy before going out to buy more!

  3. March 17, 2010 3:54 pm

    yay! I’m glad it worked out. Am curious to know if it kept well overnight?

Leave a Reply

