Skip to content

Cucumber and Radish Salad

April 8, 2010

When I was a small girl, a very special thing happened to me: my mother took me to McDonald’s.  But this was not just any trip to McDonald’s.  In this particular trip, I got a happy meal.  And in my happy meal was a toy.  Not just any toy.  A very special toy.

In fact, it wasn’t really even a toy at all.  It was the McGarden.  Have you ever heard of those?  Apparently gardens are not all that exciting to kids, so they lasted only a short while.  But I got one, a small piece of plastic complete with a tiny bit of potting soil and radish seeds that changed my life.


Admittedly, to assert that growing those radishes was a life changing experiences may be a slight exaggeration.  I spent a lot of time with my grandparents in their garden, so I had a healthy appreciation of fresh vegetables.  Yet there really is something about taking ownership of the whole radish growing experience that excited me.  When at last my labors paid off and my radishes were ready, the little picky eater in me was tossed aside.  I bit into one of my gnarly looking radishes and have been a radish lover ever since.

It is only natural for me now to drift toward radishes with the onset of spring.  Something about warm sun, the flowers and the light breeze helps me push aside braising for simple, fresh options.  Like this incredibly easy, incredibly flexible salad whipped the other day whipped up by my boyfriend.  It won me over instantly just like my very own fresh picked radishes.

Cucumber and Radish Salad

3 Tbsp rice vinegar
1 Tbsp sesame oil (hot or not)
Sriracha hot sauce, to taste (optional)
pinch of sugar
1 cucumber  (medium to large)
about 5 radishes (or more!)

Whisk together vinegar, oil, and sugar.  Add optional hot sauce if desired.  Slice cucumbers and radishes, and toss into the dressing.  You may wait a short bit for a slight pickling, but I prefer to serve this one immediately.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 7:34 pm

    Oh my god, the mcgardens!!!!! I had one too! Except I took the seeds and planted them outside 😛 As for radishes, it wasn’t until the last couple of years that I grew to like them. Only in salads though, oddly.

Leave a Reply

