Skip to content

TWD: Swedish visiting cake

April 13, 2010

The best part of this cake? It comes in a little section to the right of the page.  “This cake is an excellent keeper.  Well, wrapped, it will keep for about 5 days at room temperature…”

5 days!!!

So I could bake the cake for my group meeting Wednesday and still go to inner-tube water polo on Monday and Tuesday nights.  Perfection.

The worst part about this cake? Waking up Wednesday morning only to remember that group meeting was canceled and I had a spare cake on my hands.  Although, if I am truly frank here, that is not an awful problem to have.  Especially when I still had a group full of cohorts who have a healthy appreciation of good cake.

Yes, this cake is good.  Delicious, even.  The splendid almond, sugary cap brought shear happiness to all who partook.

Shall I summarize?  Swedish visiting cake: it’s an easy, make-ahead cake that can bring you (and anyone else you may choose to share it with) a moment of bliss.  It was a truly excellent choice by Nancy who, in case you are worked up wanting cake at this point, has the recipe posted on her blog!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 12:31 pm

    inner-tube water polo? that sounds like fun! great cake–i was glad it was a good keeper, too (although, frankly, it didn’t last too long).

  2. April 13, 2010 12:20 pm

    i like the name of your blog by the way. GREAT job!!! looks just like the pic in the book.

  3. April 13, 2010 1:37 pm

    Wasn’t this cake great?? It looks gorgeous!

  4. April 13, 2010 2:01 pm

    Inner tube water polo? I’m intrigued, you must explain!!

    Your cake looks delicious.

    • Charli permalink*
      April 13, 2010 2:13 pm

      Basically, it is my new favorite sport.

      6 players, including 1 goalie per team. Everyone rides around in inner tubes, but you are required to have your butt in the hole and your extremities over the sides of the inner tube. Then you just paddle around, throw the ball, score in the goal. Pretty much amazing, and one of the benefits of going to grad school where you can still play IMs. The last game of the regular season is tonight though…

  5. April 13, 2010 3:59 pm

    I don’t think being left with a cake is a terrible problem to have (though I did only make a half recipe for that same reason)! Inner tube water polo sounds great! Enjoy the last game tonight:)

  6. April 13, 2010 4:12 pm

    “A moment of bliss” indeed! Your cake is so pretty and I’m glad that even though your group was canceled you still found some “takers” for the cake. Make-ahead capability is always a bonus – such a versatile cake. Hope you guys win tonight! Thanks for baking along with me this week.

  7. April 13, 2010 4:57 pm

    I was just gonna say… I don’t think having a whole cake to yourself is necessarily a bad thing! HA HA! Then again maybe my abs, hips, thighs and butt would disagree. 😉 I enjoyed the almond sugary cap too 🙂
    -CB
    http://iheartfood4thought.com

  8. April 13, 2010 7:52 pm

    Inner tube water polo makes you the coolest person I know. Just sayin.

  9. April 13, 2010 10:09 pm

    Hah! 5 days? Mine didn’t last three days before it was…gone! I loved it. 🙂 Yours looks great!

    Inner tube water polo sounds like a blast!

  10. April 14, 2010 8:08 am

    Inner-tube water polo sounds like A LOT of fun! You deserve cake after all that playing! Looks good.

  11. April 14, 2010 8:11 am

    Yup, this is not a bad cake to have hanging around! I was surprised at how quickly it was devoured around my house. Your cake looks lovely, and I’m glad that you enjoyed it.

  12. April 17, 2010 7:59 pm

    This was VERY good. Definitely a keeper. And they will keep eating it quickly too. Looks great.

Leave a Reply

