Skip to content

The Daring Cooks: Brunswick stew

April 14, 2010

The 2010 April Daring Cooks challenge was hosted by Wolf of Wolf’s Den. She chose to challenge Daring Cooks to make Brunswick Stew. Wolf chose recipes for her challenge from The Lee Bros. Southern Cookbook by Matt Lee and Ted Lee, and from the Callaway, Virginia Ruritan Club.

Sometimes, I have writers’ block.  Many ideas might be spinning around in my head, but it all seems to come out like gibberish.  For example: this stew was originally made with rabbits.  Yesterday, a baby rabbit, a 3″ long bunny wandered into my office.  Well, the hallway outside of my office.  And by wandered, I mean it ran in afraid of the lawnmower.  Then undergrads picked it up and took it outside.  But they took it to the wrong side of the building away from its mother.  So we ran around like crazy trying to re-catch it and move it to its rightful place.  So I didn’t make this stew with rabbits.  I used extra chicken legs instead.

My mom says that when raising rabbits you get really attached to the bunnies.  Then they grow up and turn into really mean, viscous things and give you new bunnies, so by the time you have to eat the old bunnies you don’t get that upset.

There are rabbits everywhere around the campus here.  If I had a garden I might hate them, but I do not have a garden.  So I think the rabbits are darn cute.

But this is not a post about rabbits.  It is a post about stew.  Delicious, fantastic, Brunswick stew.  The kind of stew that I can eat 4 days in a row for lunch and dinner.

See?  Jibberish.  But, sometimes that’s all I’ve got.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 4:42 pm

    I grew up eating rabbit, but yeah, I didn’t use it in my version either.}:P

    Lovely finished stew that you did though!

  2. April 14, 2010 6:55 pm

    Join the club 🙂 It looks wonderful, even minus the bunny. Hope things aren’t too hectic for you!

  3. April 14, 2010 8:14 pm

    Until recently, I had a pet rabbit, so I didn’t cook this challenge with rabbit meat either. For the record, my bunny was bitter and mean a lot of the time, but I loved her anyway. 🙂

    Very good-looking stew, great job!

Leave a Reply

