Skip to content

TWD: chocoblock cookies

April 27, 2010

If you regularly peruse Tuesdays with Dorie blog posts, you might notice something different about my cookies: that deliciously brown color.  That is the color of fate.

It is the color of a light breeze wafting through the kitchen.  Spring, fresh and warm and fragrant through the windows coming in, brushing past, picking up the pages of a cookbook and turning them when my back was turned to another recipe.  It is the color of me, returning to my cookbook to gather the next ingredient and unthinkingly scooping out 1/4 cup of cocoa powder and dumping it in with my flour, only to realize 8 seconds later that “oh no!  that was not supposed to go in this!” and frantically scooping out as much of the cocoa powder as I can manage.

It is the color of me giving up and saying “meh” to the remaining tablespoon or so of cocoa powder left in my bowl, and continuing with the recipe.  It is the color of a slightly less sweet, slightly chocolaty-er cookie that made the masses swoon.  It is the color of my chocoblock cookies.  It is the color of fate.

I am not sure if I will ever be able to completely recreate the cookies photographed above; however, I might go back to the original recipe and try to re-hash it out.  Thank you, Mary, for a delightful cookie choice this week.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 10:32 pm

    Great post. Did you like them with the cocoa powder?

    • Charli permalink*
      April 28, 2010 6:57 am

      I did–pretty tasty!

  2. April 28, 2010 6:15 am

    Your cookies look great! And sometimes the greatest inventions occur because of an accident. Remember the original Toll House cookies?

  3. April 28, 2010 4:49 pm

    That’s so funny. They sure do look great!

  4. teaandscones permalink
    April 28, 2010 6:50 pm

    Yep. Been there. done That. but not with GOOD results. Look just right.

Leave a Reply

