Skip to content

TWD: apple-apple bread pudding

May 18, 2010

Expectations.

If there is one thing that can sucker me in as I peer through a pastry window, it is a fresh fruit tart.  The bright colors, the creamy custard, the perfect crust all scream of happiness and summer.  So I had great expectations going into last week’s pick.  Unfortunately, the tart was (for me) a dud.  Granted, this is likely due to my simultaneously being sick and in the middle of finals.  Whatever the cause, I was too heartbroken (ie stressed) to even blog about the whole experience.  So I took last week off.

Then, this week I get set for a bread pudding experience.  I did not like bread pudding, so my expectations were low.  (It might be worth mentioning that I had never actually had good bread pudding before, so the dislike was somewhat unwarranted.)  You can imagine my surprise when this came out of the oven and not only was it good–it was a divine pick by Elizabeth!

It is all too often in life, as with food, that we write things off without ever really giving them a chance, judging everything on our expectations.  Yet if these last two weeks have taught me anything, it is to judge less on my mere expectations and more so based on reality.

And one thing is for certain: I am officially a bread pudding convert.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. teaandscones permalink
    May 19, 2010 7:47 am

    Looks beautiful. Glad to have a BP convert in the group. This was quite tasty. I love BP and this one is on the top of the list. Sorry your tart didnt’ work for you, but glad this one met and exceeded your expectations.

  2. May 20, 2010 1:28 am

    Ha! As is true with so many things in life, it helps to start with low expectations. 🙂 I’m so glad you’re a BP convert…now you’ve joined the dark side for sure. Thanks for baking along this week!

Leave a Reply

