Skip to content

TWD: Raisin swirl bread

June 15, 2010

This past weekend in Hampden, a town in Baltimore, everybody gathered in the streets for Honfest, a crazy celebration where everybody and their dogs (literally) dress up in sixties-era beehives and horn-rimmed glasses.

Next year, I might have to plan ahead to arrive in style.  Not terribly good at giving yourself a beehive?  While you cannot stop in at the local organic salon–the only store actually closed for the festival, some things just won’t happen organically–you can always stop in at the glamor lounge and have that done for you:

Although, I think with a little time and some quality instruction even the beehive might be conquerable.  But it is not really something I want to do myself.

For a long while, that’s how I felt about raisin bread. (Don’t hate me…)  I enjoy making bread.  I even enjoy raisins.  Yet I did not feel the drive to make raisin bread.  And who would when you keep being given delicious homemade loaves by wonderful people?  And since raisin bread freezes so well, it seems like I have a constant supply of the stuff for every craving I get.

Last night, however, I was lazing around when suddenly it hit me: I wanted to make my own raisin bread.  I wanted to feel the dough that sounded so lovely to work with–and it truly was.  So, working late on the night before the “due date” I experienced the joy of making my own raisin bread for the first time.

This raisin bread is simply fantastic.  I am going to have to start eating a lot more raisin bread so it doesn’t take over my freezer now that I am also enamored with raisin bread baking.  That isn’t really a problem, though, is it?  Great choice, Susan!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 8:14 pm

    Doesn’t it feel great to have it made and have it be so wonderful? Great job!!

  2. June 16, 2010 8:43 am

    The Honfest sounds fun! Your bread looks very good!
    You should try it in the french toast version..it’s quite tasty!

  3. June 16, 2010 11:10 am

    omg that sounds like so much fun! what a great way to spend the weekend! re: bread: i love how artsy and different everybody’s swirls look! it’s beautiful!

  4. teaandscones permalink
    June 16, 2010 11:41 am

    Yay for making your own bread. So simple and pretty tasty. Looks perfect.

Leave a Reply

