Skip to content

The Daring Cooks: nut butters

July 14, 2010

The July 2010 Daring Cooks’ Challenge was hosted by Margie of More Please and Natashya of Living in the Kitchen with Puppies. They chose to challenge Daring Cooks to make their own nut butter from scratch, and use the nut butter in a recipe. Their sources include Better with Nut Butter by Cooking Light Magazine, Asian Noodles by Nina Simonds, and Food Network online.

This month, I am a slacker of a Daring Cook.  It isn’t that I meant to be.  I went to the store shortly after the announcement and stocked up on nuts.  Pistachios!  Almonds!  Walnuts!  Cashews!  I was prepared.

And then I thought to myself, “Pistachios make the most perfect afternoon snack.  I will just take those into work.  I will still have plenty of nuts left.”

I plowed through those pistachios like nobody’s business.  And by the time they were gone, my snacking on nuts at work habit was bordering on an addiction.  The almonds were next.  I’m sure you can see where this story is quickly going.

The cashews were the last to go.  I’m sure you won’t believe me, but when I brought them in to work for my snack, I honestly only believed I would have “a couple.”  When I opened my desk drawer to take my cashews home to make cashew butter, I had approximately 20 left.  Twenty cashews is not enough to make cashew butter.

Yesterday, realizing the predicament I had gotten myself into, I went to the store and picked up almonds.  Honey roasted almonds.  (This store has incredible honey roasted almonds which suck me in every time.)

Unfortunately, while my procrastination did not have to be the downfall of this challenge, my craving for baked shells in a luscious tomato sauce was.  So last night, instead of making the many wonderful options of nut dishes, I threw together the last of my vegetables into some shells without any nut butter and baked it while I worked out.

This morning, I woke up early, threw my nuts in the food processor, wizzed away, and made some delicious almond butter.  Part one of the challenge=complete.

Unfortunately, I do not thing slathering some of said delicious honey roasted almond butter onto an English muffin and running out the door qualifies as “using the nut butter in a recipe.”  Hmmmm.  My extremely poor will power, coupled with some procrastination got the better of me this time.  Although, I might technically have a week to pull through with the rest of the challenge and I know after looking around the internets at all of my fellow DCooks creations today, I will be craving some nut butter creations something fierce.

We have already discussed my lack of will power, so we can all admit that I will probably give in.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

