Skip to content

TWD: “lots of ways” banana cake

July 20, 2010

Lately, I have spent a lot of time reveling in the breathtaking beauty of the sky.  Sometimes on my way home I look up and it takes my breath away.  I am honestly unsure how I have passed twenty five years without realizing what was just above my head.  It is truly the stuff inspirational cards are made of, only better because it is really there, right in front of my own eyes.

I am certain that I look ridiculous, standing there on the sidewalk, eyes fixed on the clouds, lips slightly parted from the overwhelming majesty of what I see when I tilt my head thirty degrees upward.  It has been there all the time, I just need to think to look up.  Does this mean I’m getting older? Is realizing the invigorating natureof the heavens a sign of aging?  Have I crossed over from the excitement of my youth to become…boring?

Or am I harnessing the excitement of youth, the very ecstasy of discovery which propels us through our early years?  To realize new joys in life’s simple treasures–is this the key to a life void of ennui?

And the clouds.  The sun, the clouds, the rays of light.  They are phenominal, arriving in so many shapes and forms–dawn, dusk, cirrus, cumulus, stratus, overcast, stormy–there is never a dull moment up above.

If ever I am going to find a transition to banana cake, this is it. This week’s TWD recipe, chosen by Kimberly of Only Creative Opportunities, comes in many varieties–made with coconut milk, made with yogurt, frosted and fancy, or plain and simple–all of the varieties are spectacular.  This I can only assume because while I only made one adaptation, it was a pretty big one which confirms (in my mind) the malleability of this recipe.  I accidentally used the entire can of coconut milk instead of the simple half cup called for.  Any cake that can happily withstand the addition of 4 times the amount of coconut milk needed is a friend of mine.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 7:20 am

    Wow what beautiful photos!! So relaxing 🙂 The cake looks awesome too! This was my farewell post with TWD after almost two years of baking along. Hope you’ll stop by and say goodbye!

  2. July 20, 2010 7:45 am

    Your cake looks fantastic! Thanks for baking with me this week!

  3. July 20, 2010 10:49 am

    Banana cake made with coconut milk…I’m sold. Sounds absolutely worthy of an entire can if you ask me. I wish I had some bananas!

  4. July 20, 2010 11:16 am

    that must have been one moist and very delicious cake. your photos and shenery shots are fab! Tia

  5. July 20, 2010 5:02 pm

    Love the clouds! We live in the mountains–I too am amazed by their beauty. And it is different every season! Great cake too!

  6. July 20, 2010 5:36 pm

    Seems like it turned out just fine. Enjoyed reading your post today. Awe-inspiring.

  7. teaandscones permalink
    July 21, 2010 7:39 am

    I love Sky!!! It is beautiful. Especially on rainy thundery days with them boiling and building in the sky!! Not older, just more appreciative. I understand completely.

    I bet that cake was moist. Whole can!! It looks beautifully perfect.

  8. July 21, 2010 7:51 pm

    The pictures are stunning. And your cake looks pretty fabulous, too.

  9. July 26, 2010 8:58 pm

    Well who cares about the coconut milk when you have such an incredible sky to view. Thanks for sharing what you see with your eyes and your lens. Awesome! Plus love the description of the clouds as well.
    AmyRuth

    PS Don’t let anyone know how many calories/fat grams they are ingesting until after they stop swooning :”)

Leave a Reply

