Skip to content

TWD: Peanut butter crisscrosses

September 7, 2010

Have you ever been so completely engrossed in something for a brief period of your life that when it ends you find yourself lost, confused, not knowing what to do with your time?

For the past month, you may have noticed that I dropped completely off of the online world.  No blogging.  No tweeting.  No commenting.  What most of you probably did not notice is that I also dropped out of my regular life too.  I was forced into a mode of incessant studies in preparation for my qualifying exam.

I would be lying if I said this did not affect my kitchen.  Sweets went unbaked.  Meals were made without love.  The pantry was barren.  At one point, I actually had no pasta, rice, tortillas, bread, or potatoes.  The situation was admittedly quite humorous.

Now, after a month of frantic studiousness, it has all stopped.  The world has slowed back down and I can enjoy it.  My exam is over.  For better or for worse, it is over, and I can begin a rediscovering of myself.

I am filled with that feeling.  That feeling of not knowing what to do, grasping for a remembrance of who I am, what I love, what I do for fun.  There is a simultaneous scurrying of the mind and laziness in the soul. I want to do something.  I need to something.  But I do not want it to be hard.

Any suggestions?

*Update: I wrote this post last week then promptly drifted over to the completely lazy side of recovery.  Now that motivation is seeping back in, I thought I would go ahead and post it with the peanut butter crisscrosses.

These cookies were good.  The perfect indulgence for a lazy recovery from a stressful time.  Fantastic pick, Jasmine Cuisine!

And as a brief, final note, I would like to say that I did in fact make the chocolate ice cream…

and the cookies (oatmeal chocolate chip shortbread version) from last month.

Not that I posted about either of them or anything, but I made them 😉

And for any of you who have made it this far and are wondering–I passed my exams!  Wooo!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    September 7, 2010 9:18 pm

    I was wondering where you went!!! Congrats on passing your exams!!! Miss you! Hope to see you soon! ❤

  2. September 7, 2010 9:55 pm

    Congrats on a passing grad. Now on to the important stuff in life.

  3. September 9, 2010 1:22 pm

    congratulations!!! must be a nice feeling 🙂

  4. September 14, 2010 3:17 pm

    Congratulations! Now, go stock up on pasta, quick! 🙂

Leave a Reply

