Skip to content

TWD: cranberry upside-downer

September 14, 2010

I have always been a summer girl.  I love the heat, the swimming, the sitting by the pool with a book.  I go home to visit family where I am immensely spoiled.  My birthday is in the summer.  And I suppose this is a morbid sentiment, but my family rarely tends to die in the summer.  In the summer, the days are long, and I am free from class.  The summer is an abundance of fresh fruits and vegetables.  I love the summer.

Last year, though, for the first time (possibly in my life) I was excited about the Fall.  For me, fall has always been nothing more than the end of summer, the beginning of cold.  I secretly looked forward to school starting back up, like the little nerd that I am, but never to fall itself.

Now I embrace the fall.  There are sweaters that need to be worn, jackets to be buttoned, tea to be sipped.  Baking bread and roasting chickens are no longer methods of heat torture; they are fantastically aromatic and delicious experiences which bring about the need for long naps and long workouts.  Hoodies.  Sweatpants.  Apples.  And as a graduate student, I still get to look forward to going to class.  Although this year I have the added benefit of know this will be my last fall ever of needing to go to class.  Soon there will be pumpkins and hayrides.  All ready there is a fantastic chill in the air kissing my cheeks each morning.

And there are cranberries.  Cranberries which will not appear in the stores until November, but I start craving with that first chill.  In an unexpected moment of forethought last winter, I anticipated this month-long discrepancy in the cranberry cycle and have been hoarding a large quantity in the back of my freezer ever since.  Enter: the cranberry upside down cake, to be made for the first week after the cool began to set in.  Perfect timing if ever I have heard of perfect timing.

I am in love with this cake.  I love the beautiful, red, tart cranberries.  I love the cinnamon-y moistness.  I love the Fall.

Thank you for the pick, Sabrina.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 10:17 am

    I also had a package of cranberries in the back of my freezer for such a cake. Wonderful!
    However I’m not so lucky, we had 4 family deaths in July (but I’m getting old and there is only one way out)!

  2. September 14, 2010 11:24 am

    Your cranberry cake looks lusciously red. A beautifully done celebration of fall.

  3. September 14, 2010 11:27 am

    yours is truly a beautiful, colorful and breathtaking cake. I did a White Peach version.

  4. September 14, 2010 11:38 am

    Fall is my favorite time of year! I love your cake! This was a very easy and good recipe!

  5. September 14, 2010 12:07 pm

    Beautiful – I bet it tastes as wonderful as it looks! 🙂

  6. September 14, 2010 3:10 pm

    your cake looks so moist and tender! it makes me wish that my cake would have survived just one more day 😦

    it looks fantastic!

  7. Becky permalink
    September 16, 2010 9:29 pm

    I love fall! I haven’t been to the northeast for fall since starting grad school, so I’m super excited to be going home on October 1. It should be perfect! The leaves will have changed(and hopefully will still be on the trees) and it will be apple season! I plan to go apple picking, make mulled cider, eat cider doughnuts, and bring an entire suitcase of apples back to Texas. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

